The Hard Men

I am pleased to be able to tell you that Longshot Island has published another of my non-fiction articles on their website. Here is a link, if anyone would like to read it. If you enjoy it, please share on any platform, as there is no facility for comments over there.

http://www.longshotisland.com/2017/04/30/the-hard-men/

I also received some copies of their latest printed magazine, ‘Leaving Home’. This contains my short story, Valerie, and I will be taking some photos of that to show you soon.

Submitting work to them for consideration is an easy process, and I once again encourage anyone who would like to see their writing published to do just that. http://www.longshotisland.com/submissions/

Even if your first efforts are rejected, you will at least get intelligent criticism, writing tips and advice, and a real sense of engagement. As a bonus, you will also be inspired to carry on writing.

I know I was.

54 thoughts on “The Hard Men

  1. Hi!
    Nice post! Iā€™m making posts about scientific explanations behinde everyday appearance, so if you have time and will please go and check it out! If you like it please follow me, I follow you.
    Thank you! šŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for taking the time to go and read it, Eddy. I thought it might remind you of ‘Tubby’s Toe’, and that fiction series. That’s where all the inspiration came from.
      Cheers, Pete.

      Like

  2. That is truly an excellent article you’ve written about the life and times of the Hard Men. I’ve shared it on Twitter and Facebook. I would guess that there are films dealing with this subject, but I wonder if there is a definitive book written on it? Perhaps some of your followers would be interested in reading it. Your first-hand knowledge of this crime community gives your writing a certificate of authenticity. If no definitive book exists, perhaps you would consider writing one…?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, David. Many books have been written about some of the better known families I refer to.
      http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2538073/Final-memoirs-gangster-Book-villain-Charlie-Richardson-claims-bugged-prime-minister-foiled-plot-saucy-pictures-Princess-Margaret
      http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1974478.The_Profession_of_Violence

      However, I am not so sure about the ‘everyday robber’. The main problem with that idea is that I could not ‘name names’. (The two I did name are long dead)
      Many of these former criminals are still alive, as are their families. And some of my relatives continue to live in the same areas…
      You kind words are much appreciated, nonetheless.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks very much for the kind words, Lloyd, and for taking the trouble to read it. The dilemma is always “How long”? I could have written much more, including some anecdotes, but then it starts to get past the length that people are happy to read online.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Just read it on the website – great piece of storytelling Pete and all of it true! Again the maxim ‘write about what you know’ holds good. What struck me is the general acquiescence of the way of life.

    It reminded me of my own brush with the bad side of life. When I was about five or six I lived near Ian Brady and every Sunday he would clean his old post office blue Morris Estate, we would gather on a grassy verge and shower him with insults to provoke a reaction. Everybody knew he was ‘a nutter’. He would fly into a rage and chase us with a ballpein hammer which at the time we thought was funny. Some family member would then lead him into the old run down terrace to calm him down.

    One evening at about six in October or November of that year all the kids had gathered under the street light near an entry near the red rec in Gorton. A fat woman dressed in a wrap around coat, headscarf, high heels came out of the entry and asked if anyone wanted to go on a picnic? Soon all the kids were shouting and crowding around her, she panicked and turned back down the entry flipping her heels off so she could run off, then we heard a car drive away and she’d gone. A few years later I recognised her from her picture in the papers; it was Myra Hindley.

    This was just a way of life back then – an old man was stabbed to death because he told a lad it was dirty to spit on the floor. One lad I knew thought he was the reincarnation of Adolf Hitler and was saving up for a Luger. All these things were simply matter of fact, nothing out of the ordinary. I look back and sometimes wonder how I made to adulthood!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. At least I managed to avoid the serial-killers, Gary! It was fortunate that you were all street-wise enough not to accept Hindley’s invitation.
      As you say, life was accepted for what it was, and none of us knew any different back then.
      Many thanks for reading, and for the comment.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  4. I read both your published articles, Pete, and loved them both. Being of much the same age, it was interesting to see the differences and similarities with life in Athens at that time. The magazine itself seems interesting, and I will browse more (and perhaps think of submitting something?) I’m looking forward to reading your story šŸŒŗ

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Read it…loved it….a look into the past…well done…I live where the “Dixie Mafia” was in full bloom until the 1990’s….but that is another tale for a better day….LOL congrats and it is well done….worth the read…..chuq

        Liked by 1 person

All comments welcome

