Our little heatwave

May is not usually the time for such temperatures in Beetley. The last three days have seen them climb from 24 C on Wednesday, to 27 C yesterday, and a predicted 30 C today. After a spell of unusually cold weather, with the heating on in the house only ten days ago, the contrast is quite remarkable.

So naturally, we are complaining!

Too hot to sleep. Fans on in the house and bedroom. The ‘wrong’ weight of duvet on the bed. Every small chore seems to be doubly difficult in the unfamiliar heat, and Ollie has become subdued and sluggish, as the warm weather makes it hard for him to cool down. Spending much of yesterday in the garden, followed by other household chores inside, left me much more drained and tired than usual.

Tonight, we have welcome visitors from London, one of my oldest friends. Naturally we want the place to be spick and span, so I got up early to crack on with more cleaning and tidying. But by 8:30, it was already uncomfortably hot, with no trace of a breeze through the open windows. I retreated to the computer, to check my emails, and to write this.

After years of constant complaining about bad weather, it really upsets me to be doing something similar about welcome warmth and sunshine. Trouble is, we seem to get everything or nothing, with little in-between. It feels like a life of extremes, either chilly and wet, or far too hot. The garden dried up in less than a day, and now everything needs to be watered. The hose has been retrieved from the shed, and I will wait for the sun to begin to set, before giving the shrubs a much needed drink.

I haven’t bothered to check the long-range forecast, to see if this small heatwave will continue into next week. But I have a feeling that it will not.

This is England, after all.

57 thoughts on “Our little heatwave

  1. I’d normally be less than thrilled with the heat as it turns me into a sort of a wilting lettuce but watching Little O go mad in his paddling pool gave me a slightly different perspective this time around.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I sympathize completely. But we’ve gone over to the dark side here … it was a necessity. Air conditioning. A suburb of Washington DC, our weather is always exactly what you described … hops from extreme to extreme are the norm. The heat here is not just “said” to be killer, it actually is. Every summer … very sad. So … on with the ac when things get nasty. Maybe, if you can, just a window unit so you’ll have a place to escape to? Wishing you a lovely warm day tomorrow, but not toooo warm!!!! ; ))

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Lois. It is rare to see A/C units over here, as the heat rarely lasts long enough to make installing one worthwhile. We do use fans though, so get some relief with them.
      In the middle of a huge thunderstorm at the moment, so that will hopefully break the humid spell for today.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

    1. I don’t know if climate change is responsible for our current hot spell, Tina, though it’s a possibility of course. We often get these extremes, and have done for as long as I can remember. Monday is a public holiday here, and with families enjoying a long weekend break, of course it is now raining heavily! 🙂
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Roll on summer, its warming up here too thankfully, cutting hay in the morning so fingers crossed its going to be hot for three or four days. Top tip: open the widows upstairs in the house, leave them closed downstairs, it seems to help keep things a little cooler.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Pete. I love a good weather post! I agree with you – Whatever happened to moderation? We’ve had the same thing here. After months and months of rain, summer arrived early with gusto! I like it but prefer 75 to 85! And it won’t be long till I want a good rain to clear the air and freshen things up. Be of good cheer. This too shall pass! ☺

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It’s been rather hot here the past two days, but today is a “cool” day, so I’m going for a nice brisk walk around the neighborhood. Today’s high is only 91 F (32.7 C), which, considering the 19% humidity, is actually quite pleasant. Our A/C unit died last August, so we will be enduring a summer without air conditioning. For a couple of weeks in mid-summer, the mercury will soar past 110 F (43 C), and, for a day or two, will inch its way up to 117 F (47 C). Needless to say, we won’t be wearing fur-lined parkas…

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I suppose it isn’t so bad for you, with the lack of humidity. It gets very humid here late in the day, and quite airless at night. I shouldn’t complain though, after so long with dull weather. If I didn’t have so much to do, I would be enjoying it much more.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. oh I’d welcome the sun and some heat anytime. Chicago has been wet and chilly lately. I can’t complain though because it is so beautiful – green and lush! enjoy your company! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh, Pete, never happy! I don’t ‘do’ heat anymore, because of the MS, but go out early if I need to, open the windows and close the curtains to try and keep my place cool …best I can do! I believe after the weekend it will be cooler 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I promised myself this summer that I wouldn’t complain about the heat here after having so many months of [5-6] of spring-like temperatures, but hitting 90 F in May shows what I’ll be in for during July – September – Yikes! So, I can relate and sympathize with your predicament, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I was exchanging messages with the neighbours who told me it was red hot there too. Poor garden! Here in Barcelona, it is getting hotter, but it’s to be expected. I agree that extremes are becoming the norm… Enjoy the visit!

    Liked by 1 person

All comments welcome

