WordPress glitches: Their reply

WordPress have got back to me about the issue of not receiving notifications. They say it is an email problem, not a WordPress one. My jury is still out on that one…
Here’s the message.

“We’re sending you a lot of emails, including notifications from sites you follow, but also notifications about likes and comment, but a large number of these are bouncing back, meaning they cannot be delivered. This points to a problem on Yahoo’s end. Either they’re blocking some emails from us, or there’s something wrong with your mailbox with them which prevents the email from being delivered.

Please try adding comment-reply @ wordpress.com and donotreply @ wordpress.com (without the spaces) to your Yahoo address book and see if more emails start coming through. If that doesn’t help, you’ll need to contact Yahoo support to find out why they’re not letting our emails come through.”

I will do as they suggest, and let you know if that cures the problem.

Best wishes, Pete.

72 thoughts on “WordPress glitches: Their reply

    1. I know it hasn’t really been sorted, Lloyd. I’m on a WP rollercoaster. Some days, it all works fine, and on others, I get nothing at all. Just today, I found a few comments from regular followers had been put into Spam. I cannot imagine why.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes and no, John. I am getting most posts through now. I changed the setting to ‘immediate’ instead of ‘daily’. Many of the comment notifications are only appearing on the sidebar though, and not arriving as emails. Given that so many other bloggers are having problems, I don’t think it is just down to my email provider.
      Regards, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I haven’t had notifications for weeks, either, and will struggle to follow the instructions WordPress sent you – though in many ways it is a relief not to be distracted. I continue to marvel that so many people find time to create content for their blogs.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. In my case, I am retired, so choose to spend time blogging. I could never have done this when I was working, I agree..
      The instructions are not difficult, as I could not do them otherwise. ๐Ÿ™‚
      In your email main page, choose ‘Add Contact’. Place the email address provided by wordpress in there, and choose ‘Save’. It is now an authorised contact, and will get through. If more than one address, just repeat the process, no need to add any nickname or other title. x

      Like

  2. As I don’t use email for notifications I don’t suppose I know if I’m missing anyone or not, but getting all the ones I like anyway in the reader without a problem. Yahoo does suck badly, I left them ages ago and use my apple email without problems, I do hope you get sorted soon Pete, Pet or Peet, it sounds a right nightmare! (I did a post today, incase you weren’t notified ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ )

    Liked by 1 person

      1. They have developed these electronic “Bot” things — algorhythms that do not care whether we are small fry or not .. they operate by word recognition and they will censor anybody if too many of their targeted key words appear in their path … any discussion of Islam or terrorism that appears within a certain proximity of time periods will trigger them to consider you as politically incorrect and they will automatically assign a lower index presence until at least you are so hard to find on the indexes that you might as well not even post because it might take people weeks to find you if they ever do.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. You all can communicate directly with a live person at wordpress. com if you have a paid upgrade. I do it all the time and they usually resolve my problem while I am talking to them. Can you say $99 per year isn’t such a high price to pay for such excellent service?

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I have heard that the Internet users in China have more of these kinds of problems than we do. I have one Chinese visitor that sneaks onto m,y blog occasionally but never says anything to me.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. The Chinese government controls the Internet carefully, John. They switch it off when there is something they don’t want people to see. At least that’s what a news report on the BBC stated.
          Regards, Pete.

          Liked by 1 person

    1. I have a Gmail account, John. However, I have so many contacts and folders invested in Yahoo that I really don’t know if I want to change right now. Thanks for the suggestion though.
      Regards, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Have you signed onto a widget on the blogs you follow that says, “Subscribe By E-Mail” or have you simply clicked on an available button (usually in blue) that says “Follow ….Blog”? Have you connected your account to Google Feedburner and activated their g-mail notification feature?

        Liked by 2 people

        1. I have followed the blogs ‘officially’ and received confirmation from WP. They all appear as ‘followed sites’ in the reader. I have also gone into the dashboard under communication, and activated ‘send me new posts notification by email’. WP are saying that my email provider isn’t allowing them, but they are not in my email spam.
          Since activating the new contacts suggestion earlier, I have received a lot more emails, so perhaps it is starting to work.
          Best wishes, Pete.

          Liked by 1 person

        2. Good point John. I have sometimes clicked ‘Subscribe by email’ but usually clicked Follow – I think some blogs don’t have the former. I have also not connected to Google Feedburner. It could be one of those things.
          Thanks for the advice.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. The “Follow Button” does not guarantee an e-mail response. It only guarantees that the blog you follow will appear in your wordpress.com reader.

            Liked by 1 person

  4. I don’t know why anyone still uses Yahoo Pete. They’ve been a pain in the backside since long before Adam was a cowboy. Go with gmail. I don’t have too much bother with them in comparison…

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, jack. I suppose I should bite the bullet, and use my Gmail account. I would have to spend a lot of time sorting stuff out, but if these problems continue, I just might.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I switched to Gmail a year ago after lots of probs with Yahoo. It’s been good, though not all my contacts got the message so I still check Yahoo sometimes.

        I’ve been having the same problem with notifications as you on Gmail. I’ve tried the contacts fix they sent you, so we’ll find out if there are any improvements.
        Cheers

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I have had a few more emails since I added those contacts, but one post notification missed coming through earlier. Time will tell, but I suspect that it is a wider issue than email providers myself.
          Best wishes, Pete.

          Like

  5. I disagree with them – I have no e-mail notifications set up but the actual in-browser WordPress notifications came through last night after 3 days of silence. And…they all said “3 days ago”…so, no, don’t believe their response.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Peet, often I receive email comments days after I have read the comment in the notifications, once I had almost a week’s worth arrive at once! I also have seen obvious spam comments in my notifications list that I don’t normally see (Akismet usually does a good job of finding them) so I manually sent them to spam. It seems that ‘things’ are slightly awry with WP at the moment.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I was just on my way back to Support again when I spotted your post here. Pit has had problems and I (as you know), all 3 different problems – let’s see how they explain ours……

    Liked by 1 person

All comments welcome

