A Musical A-Z: A

Unlike my previous film challenge, this will not be a daily feature. I will also be taking liberties with the placing of the letters, using either the names of the recording artist, or the title of the songs. There may well be duplicates too, where I feature an artist for one letter, and one of their songs for another. I will do my best not to repeat songs that have featured in my ‘Significant Songs’ series, but make no promises that this will not happen. I do not claim that they are all great songs, and like most music, it will be a matter of taste. I hope that you will play along, with your own choices in the comments. After getting so much satisfaction from the film challenge, I wanted to do something similar.

Starting off with A offers lots of choices, and I will try to make some of them unusual. Taking me back to hot summer nights at a certain time in my life. are the long-forgotten Alessi Brothers, with the middle of the road classic from 1976, ‘Oh Lori’. When I first heard this, I thought it was a ‘female vocal’.
Oh Lori

Adele has to feature in ‘A’. This formidable British singer songwriter can do no wrong it seems, from heartbreaking ballads, to James Bond themes. I love her look, her style, and her attitude, and she has a wonderful voice too. Too many to choose from really, so here’s one I like a lot.
Rolling In The Deep

George Michael had a successful career. After hitting big with Wham, he became a solo singer, eventually becoming one of the top recording artists in the pop world. He died young, but left behind a huge legacy of great song performances. Including this one.
A Different Corner

My top pick for today (and probably other days too) was always going to be David Bowie. From his huge catalogue, my choice for his ‘A’ song is this hit for Mott The Hoople, on this occasion performed by the man himself.
All The Young Dudes

This is much easier than the film challenge. You can use the ‘A’ in any way you like, from artist name to song title. I will look forward to your personal choices. (Even the heavy metal ones, honest!)

45 thoughts on “A Musical A-Z: A

  1. Oh, I love the music from Adele and David Bowie.
    To my list, I add Apocalyptica “Bittersweet” ( only a little bit metal ) and the great John McCoy with his Band Mammoth singing All the days. And of course, the German band die Aerzte.
    And I must confess, Abba also belongs to my list! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A wonderful idea for a post Pete. The movie challenge was indeed quite a nice trip down memory lane itself and an enjoyable read so this fairs equally too. ๐Ÿ™‚ Though I protest, I don’t listen to music as often unless I am getting ready or doing a few chores and when I do it consists of a few jazz, swing songs, indie and alot of movie soundtracks so this might be quite a challenge. Having said that, I used to listen to a lot of Arctic Monkeys, Alanis Morissette, some Art Garfunkel and Akira Yamaoka.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It was a pleasure. I’ll add the jazz musician – Art Blakey who’s music I am quite fond of while I’m here. ๐Ÿ™‚

        P.s My post is published incase it still interested you. Incase the glitches were up to no good again.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I play Little O Adele songs that have been recorded as lullabies every night to signal to him that it’s bedtime. I’ve been playing them every night for 9 months and I never get tired of them.

    And All The Young Dudes is a TUNE! Although I am more familiar with the Mott the Hoople recording.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So glad to see Grace Potter and the Nocturnals listed above! And I’m definitely down with your David Bowie pick. I love music and for me, the only way to contain this, is to stick to bands — song titles, I’d be typing for a week. Al Green (The Reverend) (classic soul). Alison Kraus (a wonderful singer of real country music, not processed Nashville crap). Alabama Shakes. Afro Celt Sound System, yes, maybe the strangest, most contrived hybrid, but it works. Arcade Fire.
    And I’m already breaking my rule to stick with only the bands, because have to list “Avalon” by Bryan Ferry as a fantastic timeless album. Cheers! RPT

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can certainly agree about the wonderful Al Green, and Bryan Ferry. I have heard of Alison Kraus but don’t know her work. The others are new to me, so I am very pleased to see you include them here. I could have done 26 posts on ‘A’ alone. As it is, I wish I had left in ‘Alison’ by Elvis Costello!
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Ooh I like this game Pete. Easy choices for me, you said we can use the A however we like so I’m going for 2 of my favourite albums, Aphrodisiac by FM, and Adrenaline by Def-Leppard. Every song on each of these is a winner. Am I doing this right? ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Indeed you are. Anything with an ‘A’, whether group, solo artist, or album/song. I’m not a Def Leppard fan, and I don’t think I have ever heard of FM, but thanks for adding all those choices.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. What a great challenge! Please keep this going as often as the inspiration strikes you – Bowie is an inspired choice, I like some of the more obscure offerings and of course, Adele….oh, for those who like Adele, she sang one of the better Bond 007 theme songs – not the best, but certainly far far far from the worst (Madonna, anyone?) Here is my list of the best and worst 007 songs – https://johnrieber.com/2013/11/05/rock-on-007-the-best-and-worst-james-bond-theme-songs/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, John. I’m not a Bond fan, but appreciate you adding the link. Sometimes, the songs are better than the films. (Live and Let Die, for example! ๐Ÿ™‚ )
      Left a comment on your post. ‘The Look of Love’! Classic.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

          1. Nice idea again! Nice tracks too, very poppy, I like the Bowie song the best. Well, I never really finished your film challenge because I couldn’t come up with any movies for the last letters but music, I think can put this one off! I’m just going to try to limit myself one each but embed the videos, OK?
            Fave new-ish song starting with A…

            Anthrocene by Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds
            Fave older song starting with A…

            Also Sprach The King Of Euro Disco by Ed Kuepper
            Fave artist/band starting with A…
            Augie March
            an Aussie band named after an old novel. A newer song called Definitive History.

            But maybe it should be an older song called Asleep In Perfection.

            Also I’m going to be adding fave album starting with A…
            Abattoir Blues/The Lyre of Orpheus by Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, again but it’s one of his greatest albums and here’s the title track too.

            Cheers!

            Liked by 1 person

        1. Thanks for your great additions, William, and I am pleased that you will play along with this one. You will find many ‘pop’ songs in my picks, as I have something of a varied taste that includes Soul, Pop, Jazz, and much in between. You won’t be seeing any ‘Metal’ choices from me though.
          Best wishes, Pete.

          Like

All comments welcome

