WordPress: Living with the glitches

This will hopefully be the last time I post about the frustrating glitches I am experiencing with WordPress. I have decided just to live with them, and accept that they are not going to be put right, anytime soon.

Currently, I am still not receiving post notifications of around 30% of posts from sites I follow. This is very random, as some bloggers always ‘get through’, whilst some never do. On blogs with one or more posts in a day, I might get one, and miss two. They do seem to all be getting onto the Reader, but I have no way of knowing if this is all of them, of course.

I have contacted WordPress, and done as they ask, by allowing their emails through my email provider. I added the WordPress addresses as contacts, and that improved things a little. But many notifications are up to three days old when they arrive, whilst others are notified immediately. This generally leaves me playing ‘catch up’ with posts from blogs I follow, and arriving late to the party. It also means that I am oblivious to many posts that I don’t ever see.

I have re-followed the blogs that are most affected, and that made no difference whatsoever, so I am now at the mercy of The Reader, to find any posts from sites I follow. It seems to me that there is a real deep-down problem in WordPress, and they are either unaware of it, or can’t be bothered to address it. But enough of all this. No more frustrations over missed posts, and wondering why.

I will do my best to keep following everyone through The Reader. If I have missed one of your posts, then don’t think I have ignored it. I’m still here, and will continue to do my utmost to keep in touch.

68 thoughts on “WordPress: Living with the glitches

    1. Thanks, Lloyd. I have had better days since this, but some glitches do continue.
      As it says, I am just going to live with them. I am too invested in the WP community to change platforms now.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. This so annoying. The last time I spoke to a “Hapiness Engineer”, I complained that things got more complicated instead of simpler (in this case, posting a link) and he explained that WP is run by a whole lot of ‘volunteers’ who fiddle about at will. I said, but if it ain’t broke, why fix it? The links used to work fine before , and he said , that’s not the way it works. At the moment I can’t seem to open my admin page… Oh well, I suppose there are worse problems in the world.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like the title of your post, ‘living with the glitches.’ Life is quite like that isn’t it! On the wordpress front I too am frustrated by the frequent changes they make to the software without notifying users. I have usually gotten resolution when I contact them but I pay a little for that privilege. At least your posts are still getting through to us and don’t worry much about missing a few of ours. Thanks for following! ☺

    Like

  3. Pete, I feel your pain. I don’t seem to be getting post notifications from any at all. When I check, whether within WP or at individual blogs, I can’t find anything that allows me to re-follow by email. It’s a difficult time for me and finding all my blog friends is just more of a challenge than I’m able to meet right now… Good luck to us all. Hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They insisted that it was my email provider’s problem, Teagan, but I don’t believe them. So many people are having issues, I’m sure they have pressed the wrong button somewhere over at WP!
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. sorry about this Pete…i don’t rely on notifications or emails, i have my favorites that i visit regularly, and some everyday. but then again, it is so manageable because i have a very short list. cheers! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I hope this gets straightened out for you Pete but in the meantime why not just go with the latest posts appearing in your Reader and not worry about the ones that might get missed. Nobody is ever expected to read everything that is posted … especially when some long-winded individuals like myself post several times in a day.

    Liked by 1 person

          1. Where is this “Deleted” notice coming from …. a url … a reader ….? Are you able to read my blog even though it is deleted? I do not understand because I have not deleted it.

            Liked by 1 person

          2. If I click on your name as shown above this comment, it leads to a wordpress screen that tells me the blog is deleted. But if I type in your blog name, it appears! More irritations!

            Like

  6. As a new user my only issue right now seems to be finding other bloggers posts in unexpected places. Gmail separates your email into a main section, a social section, which hardly ever had anything in it, and then all the advertising, etc. Which is great because I can delete that all at once. But I was surprised to see WP posts in the social section, made them seem scattered. I’m sure it’s just me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I just get one lot of emails from Yahoo, with everything lumped together. It has only recently started to become a problem, as before that, I got everything immediately. The wordpress post notifications seem to be very random too, with some posts appearing, and others either delayed, or just lost completely. I have spent a couple of months trying to sort this out, but have now given up, as it was just making me feel too frustrated.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. I changed my settings so all my WordPress notifications on gmail go into the Forums section. I find it really easy to keep track of them now. Whenever you receive them just drag them into the Forums tab and it will learn to do it automatically!

      Liked by 2 people

  7. I know lately they have ‘improved’ the iPad experience of WP (though I can’t tell the difference) and wonder if that has something to do with it. The only ‘glitch’ I have is that the little bell for notifications had a red dot on it whenever I had a comment or a reply to a comment, and that no longer happens on my PC, but does on the iPad. Strange goings on. Hope it sorts soon.

    Liked by 1 person

          1. Chalk it up to algorhythmic censorship by the electronic bots who are separating what the internet god feels is appropriate or politically correct from that which the electronic god wants to hide in index data a few million miles away from the Number One position on the charts. An anomaly of the modern “Censored” internet. I guarantee you that the more Liberal your posts are the better you will find them positioned in the general indexes of the algorhythm-controlled modern Internet.

            Liked by 2 people

          2. My beetleypete posts are never confrontational, John. I have a feeling it was because of all the links I was sending out. They got me marked as a ‘Spammer’. Never mind, life goes on!

            Liked by 1 person

All comments welcome

