A Musical A-Z: D

Continuing the series, don’t forget you can use any artist, song, or album beginning with ‘D’. Feel free to add your choices, and to play along.

British band Liquid Gold were pretty much a one hit wonder, in 1980. Their simple and rather bad pop song ‘Dance Yourself Dizzy’ was a popular hit, selling over a quarter of a million, and reaching number two in the charts. Unpretentious, and unashamedly lacking in style, it nonetheless caught the imagination of many record buyers, including me. Lead vocalist Ellie Hope was perhaps aware of her shortcomings, but gave herself 100% to the performance. For me, it is just unbridled nostalgia. Happy times.
Dance Yourself Dizzy

Desmond Dekker was a Jamaican-born Ska and Reggae artist who enjoyed a lot of success in the UK. He made the charts with ‘007’, ‘It Mek’, and ‘You Can Get It If You Really Want’. But for me, this 1968 release remains a real anthem of my teenage years, and almost fifty years later, my toes are still tapping to it. Don’t worry if you don’t understand the lyrics, nobody does…
Israelites

In 1964, Martha and The Vandellas released their version of a song that has been covered many times since. When Motown was riding high with its distinctive sound, they brought us the marvellous ‘Dancing In The Street’, co-written by Marvin Gaye, and one of many hits from this girl group over the years. For me, it sums up a time in my life, and a sound that I still adore. Ignore the later cover versions, and relish this one instead.
Dancing In The Street

Irish band Thin Lizzy enjoyed great popularity in the UK, until the early death of their lead singer and guitarist, Phil Lynott, in 1986. Perhaps best known for their massive hit, ‘The Boys Are back In Town’, this track also featured highly in their record sales, and became associated with them forever, despite being a cover version of the King Harvest original.
Dancing In The Moonlight

I didn’t feature the Beach Boys under ‘B’. That was because I knew I would be adding songs they had recorded to this list. The enduring genius of Brian Wilson and the rest of the band never fails to amaze. It is arguable that no vocal group has ever harmonised so well, nor adapted their style across time periods and genres with such success. Here is their lamentably short song, Darlin’.

And just to add to the magic, here they are again, with the plaintive, Don’t Worry, Baby.
Don’t Worry, Baby

Perhaps best known from the Mamas and Papas version, this wonderful crescendo of sound from The Shirelles, (though previously recorded by the 5 Royales) is yet another anthem of my youth. Originally released by the girl group in 1959, it was re-released in 1961, when I was only nine years old. Despite my age at the time, I loved it immediately, and still do. The version that became a huge hit for The Mamas and Papas was not released until 1967, but by then I had long owned the Shirelles superior recording.
Dedicated To The One I Love

Steely Dan make my top pick again, and no apologies. I have no doubt they will feature many times before this A-Z concludes. Another masterful tune from the greatest band of that era. Wallow in the quality…
Deacon Blues

That has just scratched the surface of ‘D’. So, I have left you so much to add. Off you go!

87 thoughts on “A Musical A-Z: D

    1. I like the second one more than the first one, but appreciate that those teenage memories endure. Just that my teenage years were a long time before yours…Thanks for playing along, Jimmy, it is appreciated mate.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Enjoyed your D choices Pete, still listening to Deacon Blues, just long enough to get me through the comments! In fact wasn’t Deacon Blue a band?
    My first thoughts where Deep Forrest and Daft Punk as bands, although I’m reminded of so many as I read the comments. Dark Side of the Moon has to be my album choice, and two songs that came flooding back when I listened to Thin Lizzy (whos T-shirt I’m wearing today) Denis (Blondie) and Diary of Horace Wimp (ELO)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Eddy. Deacon Blue was a British band, and they almost made it into the list for their song, ‘Real Gone Kid’, which I always liked. I appreciate you playing along with those other suggestions too.
      Cheers, Pete.

      Like

  2. Most likely my all-time fave band ever are the Aussie act called The Drones so here’s the pub punk rock track called BabyΒ²

    Dirty Three would be another all-time fave band but not to repeat myself I’ll just skip to more songs now with Robyn’s Dancing On My Own

    Paul Kelly’s Dumb Things

    Dogs by Sun Kil Moon

    I do love that Martha and The Vandellas track so much tooooo!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for more that are unknown to me, William. I liked the track from Paul Kelly, and Robyn reminded me of Kylie a bit. She’s sexy too! Always enjoyable to hear new stuff.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. When Oasis appeared on the scene, it was obvious from the start that they wanted to be the new Beatles. They almost managed it, but Liam Gallagher is just too obnoxious a person to ever endure a long career in music. And although I enjoyed their songs, I couldn’t bear to look at them, with their arrogance and overwhelming ‘attitude’. Then again, I was getting on a bit, even then.
      They became the new Beatles in many respects though; adored by their generation, and delivering some superb songs that have become chanted anthems in the UK.
      ‘Don’t look back in anger’ is one of those, and so is ‘Wonderwall’. They have devoted fans, who will undoubtedly follow them to the end, and have succeeded in leaving a musical legacy behind.
      Regards, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I see where you’re coming from on that. Sometimes the arrogance of the band can annoy me when I watch old interviews of the Gallagher brothers, but then once I start listening to their music, I’m reminded again of what I really come to Oasis for and I have to laugh at their attitude. Noel Gallagher will forever be one of my favorite musicians, and I’ve quite enjoyed his solo work thus far. Shame that the sibling rivalry ultimately tore the band apart, but as long as their music is still around, I’m content.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad to see the Beach Boys got a shout-out here. Don’t Worry, Baby is one of my favorites in their catalogue, and after seeing “Love and Mercy” I am floored by the music genius of Brian Wilson every time I listen to Pet Sounds.
    Hope all is well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good to see you back, TTT, and with some excellent choices. Brian Wilson did well to emerge from his ‘personal crisis’. I bought his CD ‘Smile’ some years back, and I was amazed at the depth, and the re-working of some of the old Beach Boys tracks.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I couldn’t think of any D artists other than Donovan and Doris Day (who actually does have a wonderful voice, especially singing Sentimental Journey) but those aren’t my choice. I like ‘Does anybody really know what time it is? Chicago song during my era. And I love Daydream Believer too! Keep those letters coming!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I spent yesterday with Donald Fagen, both solo and Steely Dan, on my iPod…your choices are always eclectic and interesting – those Beach Boys videos are from their terrific live double album of the early 70’s – so much great music…as for your “one hit wonder”, I offer up the Divinyls, who had just the one hit in the 90’s, but what a hit it was: the sultry “I Touch Myself”

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love many of the songs you and others have already mentioned Pete, including the two Beach Boy Songs and Dock of the Bay. My list would start with:
    Don’t Fear the Reaper -Blue Oyster Cult
    D.O.A. – Foo Fighters
    Dance In the Dark – Lady Haha
    Dance the Night Away – Van Halen
    Dancing In the Street – David Bowie and Mick Jagged
    Dancing On the Ceiling – Lionel Ritchie
    Daylight – Maroon Five
    Dark Star – Grateful Dead
    Daydream Believer – The Monkees
    Death and All His Friends – Coldplay
    Dear Father – Black Sabbath
    Desire – U2
    Dude Looks Like A Lady – Aerosmith
    The Devil Went Down To Georgia – Charlie Daniels Band
    And I’m going to stop there because I could probably keep going for hours! Some of my favorite musicians would be: David Bowie, Diana Ross, Disturbed, Dixie Chicks, Donna Summer, and The Doors. I’m also going to include Dennis Wilson because even though he was a Beach Boy, he went solo with his album, Pacific Ocean Blue.

    Liked by 3 people

      1. Maybe it’s another ‘age’ thing, or perhaps I just cannot stand Bono, and his ‘living God’ persona, but U2 are one of my least-favourite bands of all time! Good to have such diverse taste in this series though, that’s what it’s all about. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Ok I have watched that β€œDizzy” video, it cannot be un-seen, that’s destroyed a swath of brain cells. I’m really not much of a drinker, so I don’t think I’ll ever watch that again. I instantly recognized β€œIsraelites,” love it! but didn’t know the name Desmond Dekker, so thanks! Bob Dylan is one of very few musicians where I’ll turn the radio off in other people’s cars, or just jump out of a moving vehicle. Here’s “D” bands: Diana Ross & The Supremes. Dire Straits, without question. If you want real American-guitar-band = Dave Alvin (should have been under “A” I guess, or β€œB” for The Blasters). Dr. John (zydeco/boogie woogie/general weirdness). Dorsey Brothers (the best of the Swing Bands). Dinosaur Jr.? And from this century, Death Cab for Cutie (terrible name, good band), The Dandy Warhols, maybe The Decemberists. Have a great weekend, Pete! RPT

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks very much for the great suggestions, Robert. I’m afraid that video from Liquid Gold counts as psychological warfare these days. All I can say in my defence is that it has personal associations, so of course, you “had to be there”. (I did write that it was rather bad…)
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I knew you wouldn’t mind if I kidded you a bit. Everybody has a some “guilty pleasures” songs in their mental closets! It didn’t help that I grew up with a cleaning spray under the kitchen sink, called Scott’s Liquid Gold. You’ve got a very fun blog going, Pete! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I could do hundreds for each letter. What I put up is merely a snapshot, and I hope that others supply many that I had to leave out. It was the same with the films. One reason why I so rarely do lists or challenges. πŸ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

  8. Most of the songs you mention in your blogpost are my favorites, too… Brian Wilson has been a musical genius, as far as I know he composed not only pop hits for the Beach Boys but also “classical” synfonies.
    Have a nice day!

    Liked by 2 people

  9. The “D”s could go forever so I will be short….Artists….Devo,Derrick and the Dominoes, Don McLean, Deep Purple, Dire Straits and the Doors…..songs…”Frean On” by Aerosmith, “Dancing Queen” by Abba, “Dazed and Confused” by Led Zeppelin, “Do You Believe In Magic’ by Lovin’ Spoonful, “Dreams” by Fleetwood Mac and “Drift Away” by Dobie Gray……my fingers are tired…..I tag out to others….have a good day….chuq

    Liked by 2 people

    1. The Lovin’ Spoonful are one of my favourite bands from that time. Thanks for mentioning ‘Do You Believe In Magic’, what a great song that is. I am going to add it to your comment

      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I have never seen ‘Glee’. (I’m old!) I appreciate your comment though. If you would like to add something like that in the comments, please go ahead.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  10. Still so many “new – old” songs to discover in your excellent archive, Pete. Love to listen to the songs as I blog on. πŸ™‚
    Wishing you, Jude and Ollie a great summer in Beetley- now that we have celebrated summer solstice in Norway πŸ‡³πŸ‡΄ πŸ™‚
    Dina & co x

    Liked by 1 person

All comments welcome

