A Musical A-Z: E

Up to ‘E’ already, and it is surprising how many possibilities there are for this letter.
Don’t forget to play along with your choices. Any song, album, or named artist, as long as the name begins with ‘E’.

It couldn’t be ‘E’ without The Eagles now, could it? So much a part of the musical establishment, it it often easy to forget just how good they are. I suppose that ‘Desperado’ is the obvious choice, especially as I missed it (deliberately) off of ‘D’. But I will go with the first Eagles single I ever bought.
Take It Easy

Previous experience on this blog has shown me that not as many people love the music of the Electric Light Orchestra (ELO) as much as I do. But as it’s my blog, they are going to feature, you can be sure of that. I like so many of their songs, I might have them popping up all over the place. But here’s one to start with.
Telephone Line

I have never been secretive about my love for Madonna. I will agree that she has gone on rather too long, and is in danger of one day appearing live from an old people’s home. However, her early career showed promise, and she became a pop powerhouse that will live on for as long as people ever play records. Without Madonna, there would never have been a Lady Gaga. The great styles and looks, the lovely face, wonderful figure, and above all, the innovative videos used to promote her work. If you didn’t like the song, it didn’t matter. Just watch her. She more or less had it all. Acting, (sort-of) sex appeal (definitely) great songs (no question) and a terrific dancer too. Here’s one for ‘E’
Express Yourself

Ever been attracted to a band because of the name? I have. I also liked this song from them, but only this one. I have the single in a box somewhere, so make do with listening to it on You Tube these days. It takes me back, and creates fond memories in my mind. And I have no idea why. But whatever you think of it, you have to agree that Martha and The Muffins is a great name.
Echo Beach

At the time, Hazel O’Connor was a rather abrasive young British woman who had a (just) decent voice, and also acted in a few films. I was quite taken with her style though, and chose to ignore the hype of her ‘wild child’ past. She’s still around, now aged 62. But this was her heyday, in 1980.
Eighth Day

I am well known for my love of soulful sounds and funky stuff, as well as liking a lot of female vocalists and girl groups too. I also confess to a weakness for big ballads and torch songs. This song from En Vogue manages to wrap all of that up in one (for me) very appealing package. Play it very loud.
Don’t Let Go

Following on from that theme, another big ballad and classic soul song. This time from a boy band, Boyz to Men. Whether you like this kind of music or not, you will find yourself relating to the song, if you have ever lost in love.
End of The Road

My top pick today is a song from as long ago as 1944, written by the wonderful talent that was Cole Porter. Perhaps most associated with the divine voice of Ella Fitzgerald these days, it has been covered by almost everyone you can think of, including a very good version in modern times, by Simply Red. It is an example of how a truly great song can endure, and will no doubt live on. I dearly wanted to feature the version by Jimmy Scott, as I had the privilege to watch him perform it live, in Ronnie Scott’s club in London. Sadly, the clips of that are not allowed to be accessed from the UK. So here is Simply Red’s version, with a suitably nostalgic video.
Every Time We Say Goodbye

54 thoughts on “A Musical A-Z: E

  1. I think I was introduced to ELO by the older brother of a childhood friend and many of the tracks have stayed with me and remind me of so many more and so ELO would have to be my band of choice. Mind you I think Eric Clapton should probably get a mention as well.
    Equinoxe (Jean-Michel Jarre) and Elephant (The White Stripes) for my Album choice.
    As for tunes, its so hard to pick, but I’ll go with Enjoy Yourself (The Specials) Epic (Faith No More) and Eaton Rifles (The Jam) as all of them hold good memories for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My two E bands would Einstürzende Neubauten and Eddy Current Suppression Ring!
    Sabrina:

    Rush to Relax:

    I was did that gig tooooo!
    Songs would just have to be Everything’s Fucked by Dirty Three

    Evidence by Faith No More

    I do totally love that MacDonna pop song from yr pick too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I only know Faith No More (and featured them in ‘F’.)
      The Dirty Three have a real country feel for sure, and Eddy Current reminds me of the very early days of Punk. Sabrina is a very unusual song, with a spooky video! Thanks for the introductions, William.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the Eagles but I’m an even bigger fan of ELO (great minds…), so you had me there. I do love Cole Porter’s songs (I think he was unable to write a bad song even without trying too hard) although it is true we are spoilt for choice with the many versions. Thanks again, Pete!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ELO! What a talented act. My personal fav of theirs is Eldorado. Every song reminds me so much of a broadway soundtrack, and Jeff Lynne has some beautiful lyrical moments on there. I also quite enjoy a lot of songs from No Answer, the debut-in my opinion, the best songs on there are 10538 Overture and Nellie Takes Her Bow.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think Jeff Lynne is Britain’s answer to Brian Wilson. Unique sound, inventive production, unusual lyrics, and constant evolution. As well as the song featured here, I also love ‘Evil Woman’, ‘Sweet Talkin’ Woman’, ‘Mr Blue Sky’, and ‘Turn To Stone’.
      Thanks for pitching in, TTT.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I remember your previous posts regarding Simply Red. I’m a fan, too. Nice choice.Eagles are a staple. Love that artistic design! Let’s see. E. Hmmm.
    Pink Floyd’s “Echoes”and “Eclipse”, Stevie Nicks, “Edge of Seventeen”, Beatles “Eleanor Rigby”, the Turtles “Elenore” and Billy Idol “Eyes without a Face”
    Goodness, those are just a few songs. Artists and groups? Well, surely someone has said Elvis Presley and ELO is good, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. GP Cox commented about Elvis, Cindy. I had ‘Elenore’ on my shortlist, so glad you mentioned The Turtles.
      The trouble with these posts is that you have to leave out so much good stuff!
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, FR. You always manage to come up with some unusual ones that I have never heard of. I will have to investigate ‘Hinder’.
      (Hmm…’Post-Grunge’, apparently. Not sure I was ever ‘Pre-Grunge! 🙂 )
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. End of the Road is one of the great R&B tunes of the 90s. It was at #1 on the Billboard Hot 100 for 13 weeks. That was the record until Whitney Houston’s “I Will Always Love You” took over at the end of ’92. To me, Boyz II Men are still the last great R&B group which is sad. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Haven’t heard Echo Beach in ages. I had the single and might still have (all my singles are still in the box I put them in when I moved to Wales about a decade ago) but have nothing to play them on now! I see you moved from London – me, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We moved here when I retired, Val. All my singles are in old wooden boxes in the loft, along with the vinyl albums too.
      You Tube is a great resource for catching up with all the old favourites. I can find almost any old song on there somewhere.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Pete, “E” does indeed offer great music, especially from ELO and the Eagles…I am also a fan of the British “moody music” group Elbow, with their song “Asleep In The Back” a great way to get to know them – and here is what I posted about the debut album of the Eagles, now immortalized with a “Winslow Arizona” statue that is, yes, “standing on the corner”!

    https://johnrieber.com/2016/08/14/the-eagles-their-smash-hit-debut-album-the-iconic-winslow-arizona-statue/

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Wow, I’ve heard some stuff by Simply Red, and am a big Cole Porter fan, but never heard that before, Hucknall did very well by that tune, Ella Fitzgerald is a tough act to follow. You’ve already put in plugs for Elvis Costello. ELO was great, like a really excellent Beatles spin-off. Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros. Glad someone listed Edward Elgar,a favorite, and Erik Satie, too, way ahead of his time. Elliott Smith would have made the list, if he’d lived longer. Etta James, excellent oldtime R&B. Since I lived in Hull briefly, have to put in a vote for Everything but the Girl. cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have featured EBTG and Etta James before on this blog, Robert, so thought it best to let someone else mention them. And you did! Thanks as always for playing along, and listening to my picks too.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Ooh! Great picks Pete! My list would include: Sir Elton John, Eric Clapton, ELO, Earth, Wind and Fire, The Eagles, Eddie Money, Eminem, Evanescence, Ed Sheeran, Eddie Vedder, Ellie Goulding, Enya, and Europe. For songs I’d pick:
    Elevation – U2
    Even Better Than the Real Thing – U2
    Exit – U2
    E.T. – Katy Perry
    (Everything I Do) I Do It For You – Bryan Adams
    Earthshine – Rush
    Easier To Run – Linkin Park
    East Jesus Nowhere – Green Day
    Easter Parade – Fred Astaire
    Ebony and Ivory – Sir Paul McCartney and Stevie Wonder
    Echoes In Rain -Enya
    Eclipse – Pink Floyd
    Edelweiss – Sound of Music
    Edge of Seventeen – Stevie Nicks
    Eight Days A Week – Beatles
    Eyes Without A Face – Billy Idol
    And I’m cutting myself off here!

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Well, I’m going to be the party pooper, Pete….. I could have commented on any of your letter posts, B would have been Brahms as I love a lot of his music, and for E today it will be Elgar, more specifically his Cello Concerto, but it must be the Jacqueline du Pré recording….. So there we go, not quite what you had in mind!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s most welcome, Sue. It is not just about popular music. I am always happy to see classical music mentioned, as well as opera. (Which I like)
      I even ‘allow’ Heavy Metal, as well as Country and Western! 🙂
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I’m not really an Elvis fan, GP, though I do acknowledge his great place in modern musical history.
          And I also have a real fondness for ‘The Wonder Of You’, but no idea why! 🙂
          Best wishes, Pete.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Growing up, I didn’t really have a favorite myself – there were too many to chose from and a lot of one-hit wonders. I would have favorite songs, not favorite performers.

            Liked by 1 person

  12. Eagles will be on everybody’s list…..but other artists….Earth, Wind and Fire……Engelbert Humperdink…..Edwin Starr….and Eric Clapton…..tunes? THis was a difficult one the only one that my brain would allow was “Eight Miles High” by the Byrds…..maybe more coffee will help….have a good Sunday and see ya later….chuq

    Liked by 1 person

All comments welcome

