Significant Songs (133)

Cry Me Out

Regular readers will know that I have a fondness for British female solo singers, and can be unusually affected by otherwise trite little pop songs. This has been evidenced by my inclusion of Duffy, Emma Bunton, Geri Halliwell, and Sam Brown, among others.

Pixie Lott is a 26 year-old British singer, as well as a some-time actress, TV presenter, and general celebrity. She has apparent boundless enthusiasm, and pops up all over the place, most recently as a judge on the talent show, ‘The Voice’. Her southern accent and crinkly hair make her stand out from the crowd of more stylish performers, and her appeal to young record buyers is undeniable.

Considering her age, she has been around for a long time, signing her first record deal at the age of fifteen, whilst attending a stage school. She has also written songs for other artists, and now runs her own version of that same stage school, in Essex. So what is a record from this pretty young lady doing on this old man’s blog? (I hear you ask)

In 2009, I was driving along in my car, and heard a record on the radio. Stuck in heavy traffic in London, I turned up the volume, and sat and enjoyed this old fashioned song, with its ‘heartbroken ballad’ style. I surmised it was something from the back catalogue of someone I didn’t know, and eagerly awaited the announcement of the singer’s name when the record ended. I was amazed to discover that it was a new release, from someone apparently very popular, who I had never heard of. But I thought it was a great song.

And I still do.

23 thoughts on “Significant Songs (133)

All comments welcome

