A Musical A-Z: G

Another reminder that you can play along with your suggestions and favourites. Any group, singer, song title, or album. As long as the name begins with ‘G’.

The American band Garbage is fronted by the Scottish female vocalist, Shirley Manson. Although I am not a great fan of indie rock, I do like this 1996 song a lot, because of her powerful voice. It also has a connection to Madison Wisconsin, where the band was formed, and the place that I had a strange dream about recently. https://beetleypete.wordpress.com/2017/04/20/my-trip-to-madison/
Stupid Girl

American singer Jill Scott was mainly known for her Jazz-style, and enormous vocal range. Over the years, she has managed to cross genres into Rap and R&B, but her unmistakable voice is always worth listening to, whatever the song. This is my favourite track from her, displaying the Blues origins behind so much modern music, so I was pleased it began with a ‘G’. She is a powerful woman, with an equally powerful voice.
Gettin’ In The Way

Sometimes, something in a song just works. It may not be by someone you would normally ever listen to, or from a genre that you usually enjoy. But when the sound gets to you, there’s no point denying it. American rapper Coolio is a good example of this. Someone I had vaguely heard of, but never really listened to. Then this came along.
Gangsta’s Paradise

British band Go West were big over here at one time. The duo looked good, and made good records too. As well as being popular with the ladies for their looks, they also delivered some excellent vocals, and many original songs along the way. They are still around today, but never managed to repeat their success from the mid 1980s.
We Close Our Eyes

When I was in my teens, Geno Washington and The Ram Jam Band were hugely popular in the UK. This large showband had an equally large following, with fans enjoying their covers of current soul songs, alongside some original tracks. I had all their albums, and still enjoy listening to them now and again. Many years later, another British group came along, and made a fitting tribute to Geno Washington, and his influence on British Soul Music. That band became famous later in their own right, as Dexy’s Midnight Runners.
Geno

Two things you might never expect to see on this blog. 1) A James Bond theme. 2) A heavy rock band.
So, you might be surprised at this choice, where Guns N’ Roses meets James Bond. I was, but I can’t help but like this powerful version of the song.
Live and Let Die

Leaving out more songs than I care to imagine, I come to my top pick for ‘G’. No mention of music together with the letter G can leave out one of the greatest musical talents of the modern era, the wonderful George Gershwin. (Double G!) The following piece of music has been an enduring love of my life. A tribute to America, as well as a unique construction, mixing both Jazz and Classical Music with a perfect result. This is the 1924 recording, with Paul Whiteman’s orchestra. Sublime.
Rhapsody In Blue

81 thoughts on “A Musical A-Z: G

    1. Strange that he is so well-known,, but I have never heard of him until now. Sounds a bit like gypsy folk music, with a hint to Frank Zappa. Interesting.
      Cheers mate, Pete.

      Like

  1. Lately I’ve been digging into the back catalogue of Gorillaz quite a bit. Strange, for as weird as some of their music can get, I think I prefer Damon Albarn’s work in Gorillaz than I do to his work in Blur (still enjoy some Blur though, just not a massive fan). I think the creativity and storyline that goes into a Gorillaz album is what sells it for me.
    Great post as always; wishing you well from Ohio!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was hoping someone would mention Gorillaz. Interesting stuff from them indeed. I also liked Albarn in Blur, and one of their hits will feature later. Hope all’s well in the Buckeye State. Enjoy your 4th of July celebrations.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks. I look forward to seeing which Blur song you feature! My personal favs of their hits are Parklife and This Is a Low.
        All is well here; looking forward to continuing to enjoy warm weather and some fireworks to celebrate the 4th.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. A lot of interesting choices, but no Grateful Dead heads here. Grace Potter and the Nocturnals is very decent. Guster is a terrific band from Boston, you might like “Amsterdam”. Gary U.S. Bonds is a great old-school R&B guy. The Georgia Satellites is not a great band, but it’s impossible to not sing along with “Keep Your Hands To Yourself”. My sister votes for Gary Jules “Mad World”. George Thorogood for his slide guitar playing. Gomez is an English band, I think, and really good. Grieg “Peer Gynt” — we play “Hall of the Mountain King” when we are house cleaning! see ya! RPT

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Robert. I come from the Grateful Dead heyday, and was confident that someone would mention them. I know Gary U S Bonds well, and will check out Guster. As for ‘Mad World’, I am a Tears For Fears fan, so their original version rules for me.
      Just watched ‘Amsterdam’, a cheerful sound indeed. The 3-wheeled car in the video is a Reliant, a British car that once had a great following here.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m back now and can’t believe your already up to G! So joining with these ones and we can see if you like any? I’ve got to added The Go-Betweens or has someone already say that?

    What the Aussie teenage band from the 80’s that named themselves after GOD

    For songs it would have to be Goin’ Out West by Tom Waits

    And Rowland S. Howard’s Golden Age of Bloodshed

    I’ll limit myself to four each because it looks like I’m going backward this Sunday looking at and finding all your older posts. Garbage is my fave of your picks too, nice!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for those, William. I only knew Tom Waits, and played the other clips from the bands I had never heard of.. Always good to have those ‘unknown’ additions. Thanks for playing along.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No problem, it’s really cool you did liked some of these “unknown” additions I added today. I most likely could have gone on and on so limited myself to only four songs of the first I could think on this Sunday morning was fun. I have been thinking all day oh what about this and that which I remember since then but oh well maybe some other time I can intro you some other stuff you’ve not hear before, you’ve got a few more letters of the alphabet left. Your invited over to my blog anytime too, it’s full of “unknown” acts that I love and who knows you might dig too?
        Cheers again and keep up the good work!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I was going to go with “Nothin’ But a G Thing,” but it narrowly misses out on the qualifications (though it is oh-so-close!).

    Also, Madison is my hometown! Perhaps you’re reading too much of our blog and therefore we’re having strange influences on you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t know if you read that post about my ‘Madison dream’, Sarah. It was a very strange one indeed, and I still haven’t really got to grips with it. Thanks for your offering in ‘G’.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I did hop over and take a look at it. It’s so strange that you would have such a vivid and really true-to-life dream about somewhere you’ve never been. Perhaps there was a show on TV in the background of somewhere you were, and even though you didn’t consciously notice it, you subconsciously absorbed information about Madison.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. No doubt about this one ~ Judy Garland. That soulful voice singing, ‘Somewhere Over the Rainbow.’ It took me much longer to appreciate the older voice, but now I do. ‘Stormy Weather.’ ‘Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas.’ Also, I love the duet with her and Barbra Streisand, ‘Happy Days are Here Again/Get Happy.’ Powerful singing.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I’ll nominate some bands, but had to say YES!! GEORGE GERSHWIN – RHAPSODY IN BLUE Might just be my favorite piece of music. I’ve heard it performed with a full symphony orchestra, pops, stage orchestra, jazz band, whatever, it’s always great. I loved the Disney Fantasia 2000 version. And I will always associate it with my grandfather, a true New Yorker, who passed away this year. He grew up in the Bronx, not Brooklyn, and could not carry a tune in a bucket, but had a similar childhood combining delinquency and culture, and he loved Gershwin with a passion.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Once again you’ve made perfect choices here Pete! You really do have good taste. I’d have all of these on my list, especially George Gershwin and Guns N’ Roses. Live and Let Die, Sweet Child O’ Mine, and Cold November Rain are three of my all time favorite songs by them. My list of G artists would also include: George Michael, George Harrison, Gloria Estefan, The Go Go’s, Grateful Dead, Green Day, and Genesis. My songs would include:
    Gabriel’s Message – Sting
    Go Your Own Away/Gold Dust Woman/Gypsy – Fleetwood Mac
    Gloria – Laura Branigan
    Georgia On My Mind – Ray Charles
    Get Back/Getting Better/Good Day Sunshine/Gotta Get You Into My Life – Beatles
    Get On Your Boots/Gloria/God Part II/Gone/Grace – U2
    Get On Your Feet – Gloria Esteban
    Ghost Town – Adam Lambert
    Ghost Rider – Rush
    Ghostbusters – Ray Parker Jr.
    Gift of Screws/Great Day – Lindsey Buckingham
    Gimme All Your Lovin’ – ZZ Top
    Gigi – Lerner & Lowe
    Girl On Fire – Alicia Keys
    Girls On Film – Duran Duran
    Girls, Girls, Girls – Motley Crue
    Give Me Love – George Harrison
    Glitter In the Air – Pink
    Gloomy Sunday/ God Bless the Child – Billie Holiday
    Glory Days – Bruce Springsteen
    God Only Knows/Good Vibrations – The Beach Boys
    God – John Lennon
    God Rest You Merry Gentlemen
    Going Down To Liverpool – Bangles
    Going Under/Good Enough – Evanescence
    Good Life – One Republic
    Goodbye Earl – Dixie Chicks
    Goodbye Yellow Brick Road – Elton John
    Goodnight Saigon – Billy Joel
    Goody Two Shoes – Adam Ant
    Graceland – Paul Simon
    Grease – Frankie Valli
    Greased Lightnin’ – John Travolta
    Greensleeves
    Grenade – Bruno Mars
    Gypsy Tramps & Thieves -Cher

    Kim Out *Drops Mic*

    Liked by 2 people

      1. That album is class Pete, if you have a chance, give it a go, excellent lyrics and music. They are a Scottish band and the singers voice is just great, unfortunately he left and they’re not the same now.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Pete, very eclectic list, but you know I must point out that it was McCartney who performed the greatest Bond theme of all – still, G’n’R gave it their own unique spin so bravo to them. As a longtime fan of Genesis – both iterations – I offer up their “Citizen Kane” of progressive rock, “Squonk!” That was Phil Collins taking over vocals from Peter Gabriel, who also fits this list, and I’d go with “Red Rain” for him, or even Gabriel in Genesis for “The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway.” Double “G” for the win!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I expected to you to pitch in for Macca, John. And you did!
      Thanks for the other suggestions. I was anticipating some love for Gabriel and Genesis.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

          1. I reckon you would have a good laugh, and meet a lot of ‘willing women’. But it’s hardly a career, more like an ‘extra job’. I can’t see you doing it until you are 65, and retiring with a gold posing-pouch! πŸ™‚

            Liked by 1 person

  9. Gloria Gaynor (Double G)….Gary Numan……Guess Who…..songs were a bit more easy….”Gloria” ,…numerous bands, “Go Your Own Way”….Fleetwood Mac, “Get Up” by James Brown…..”Green Onions” by Booker T. and the M.G.s….I’ll be kind an leave room for others….good one…looking forward to “H”….later….chuq

    Liked by 2 people

All comments welcome

