A Musical A-Z: K

Trying not to drag this out for too long, here we go with ‘K’. Don’t forget to play along. Any record, album, group, or singer, as long as the name begins with ‘K’.

I will start off with a British group that rose to fame in the 1960s, fronted by brothers Ray and Dave Davies. They were successful until the band split in 1996, though Ray Davies continues to pursue a solo career to this day. Their distinctive ‘London’ sound, and some very unusual songs, gave them a large and loyal following. The first single I ever bought by them was this one, released in 1964, when I was just 12.
Really Got Me

A unique sound, and a song that has endured all my life. A favourite of film soundtracks, and something that appeals to a very wide audience. I was hooked from the first time I heard it, and had to search out the name of the group, so I could buy the single. It was by The Kingsmen, and I am sure that everyone reading this will have heard it, at least once in their life. Back to my ‘Mod’ days!
Louie. Louie

Another trip back to the soul music of my youth, this time from Eddie Floyd. This was a guaranteed floor-filler at any party during my early teens, and almost everyone remembers it. If they are old enough of course.
Knock On Wood

Kim Wilde was the pretty young daughter of British Rock and Roll star Marty Wilde. She inherited her father’s vocal talents, and embarked on a career of her own, in 1981. Her debut single was a huge hit, and she went on to become a much loved part of the music and TV scene here. These days, she has matured into an attractive 56 year-old woman, and presents gardening shows on television. This is from her heyday, and is still played all the time on the radio.
Kids In America

Prince was a huge talent in the music industry. Many of his songs were recorded by others, even though he usually recorded his own version too. This will not be the last of his songs to feature here, though it is a great fit for the letter ‘K’. (No official video is available)
Kiss

My top choice today is once again from Steely Dan. As always, I make no apology for adding yet another of their wonderful songs to this A-Z. With a couple of exceptions, I could probably do the whole challenge from their back catalogue.
Kid Charlemagne

Please add your own choices for ‘K’. Look them up, there are more than you might imagine.

55 thoughts on “A Musical A-Z: K

  1. nice songs there’s a song i really like by megan trainor its not in like the style of all these songs but i just thought i would share it with you. its called i feel better when im dancing

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Although it was International Kissing Day yesterday and they kept playing songs with Kiss on it I can’t recall any to mind. Kid Creole… (they always got my feet moving). Have a great day, Pete

    Liked by 1 person

  3. There was a song back in ’96 by a group called K’s Choice called “Not an Addict.” I always thought it was a fantastic song. Also, Tupac’s “Keep Your Head Up” and a little love to an old school hip hop legend: Kurtis Blow with “If I Ruled the World.” I’m putting the link to “Not an Addict” below.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is a very appropriate choice, Theo. Not only does the standard title begin with ‘K’, the full title is
      “A B C D E F G H, I got a gal in Kalamazoo”. The perfect song for an A-Z challenge!
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  4. I really like the “K” lineup you did, I never heard that “Kids in America” before, good tune! KINKS! I’m definitely in the “God Save the Kinks!” crowd, we have to play “Waterloo Sunset” for all important events. And even the tribute albums are good, I’ve played the “See My Friends” disc a hundred times in the car. KT Tunstall is just excellent, I didn’t realize until I looked up the spelling of her name, she’s Scottish! Stan Kenton & Gene Krupa (big bands). Lenny Kravitz has a very cool retro sound. I’m sure you know the story about the Kingsmen’s “Louie” song and J Edgar Hoover. Regards! RPT

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I heard that the FBI tried to get the song banned, and prosecuted for obscenity, that was all. I found this on the Internet, and it makes for fascinating reading, with a copy of the original FBI report.
      http://www.npr.org/2015/05/02/403623915/louie-louie-indecipherable-or-indecent-an-fbi-investigation
      Glad to hear that you liked Kim Wilde’s song, and also that you are a Kinks fan.
      I knew that KT Tunstall was from Scotland.
      Thanks as always for your other suggestions.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Some great tracks there, Pete. Embarrassingly, the band Kajagoogoo was the first ‘K’ to spring to mind for me. I was a teen in the 80s but I wasn’t a particular fan of theirs. A close school friend was a HUGE fan so perhaps that’s why they stick in my mind 😊.
    Kraftwerk also come to mind, and Marillion’s brilliant ‘Kayleigh’.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love the Kinks and Steely Dan, so your choices would be mine. Let’s see. “Karma Police” by Radiohead comes to mind. So does “Keep it Dark” by Genesis, “Kentucky Woman” by Neil Diamond, and The Killers.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I loved Kim Wilde! I used to know the lyrics to Kids In America by heart! That’s so interesting that she does gardening shows now. My list would include: Kristen Chenoweth, Kansas, Kurt Cobain, Kylie Minogue, and Kiss, and Katy Perry (she’s a guilty pleasure of mine). For songs I’d go with:
    Karma Chameleon – Culture Club
    Kashmir – Led Zepplin
    Keep On Loving You – REO Speedwagon
    Keep Your Head Up – Andy Grammer
    Keep Yourself Alive – Queen
    Keeping the Faith – Billy Joel
    Kids – Bye Bye Birdie

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Well, Kim. You were one of those ‘Kids In America’! 🙂
      Thanks for the rest, and always good to see Culture Club. (They might feature later, with a different song)
      Best wishes, and hope your head is better today.
      Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I can only think of a couple that you have not thought of….artists…..Kenny Loggins, King Crimson, The Killers….songs…..”Killing Me Softly With His Song” Donna Summer……..”Killer Queen” from Queen…..a tough one…that is the best I can do without the Google button…LOL chuq

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Pete, a great list of “K’s”! Here are a few more:

    The mid-70’s Kinks were more nuanced, and the beautiful ballad “Stormy Sky” is a great example.

    Love that Steely Dan song, but you could also have used their classic song “Katy Lied” as well – remember: “Katy lies, you can see it in her eyes…”

    I will avoid the obvious “My Sharona” by The Knack – I offer the more obscure Kings Of Convenience and their great “Toxic Girl”

    Finally, I’m not a huge KISS fan, but if I were, you could basically put any of their stuff on here!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. John, ‘Katy Lied’ is the title of the album, so I could have used it.
      But those lyrics are in the song ‘Dr Wu’, which I was thinking of for ‘W’ at one stage.
      “Biscayne Bay, where the Cuban gentlemen sleep all day”.
      Thanks for reminding me of ‘My Sharona’, that was a fast-paced rocker from The Knack.
      Personally, I can’t stand to look at Gene Simmons and Kiss, so they were unlikely to feature as a choice from me.
      Thanks for all the others, including Kings of Convenience, who I have never heard of.
      Best wishes as always, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. What? No Kraftwerk? The Model or the more ubiquitous Autobahn would stand up with your choices IMHO.

    It’s a great series, by the way. Sorry I haven’t been more active – I’ll try to do better in future. I already have my favourite L.

    Liked by 1 person

All comments welcome

