A Musical A-Z: L

Still not halfway through, and up to ‘L’. Don’t forget to add your own favourites. Any song, album, band, or singer, as long as the name begins with the letter ‘L’.

Starting today with a great rocking tune from Boz Scaggs, released in 1976. I first heard of Boz as part of The Steve Miller Band, and research shows me that Scaggs and Miller both went to Wisconsin University in Madison, another weird connection to the place that I had the strange dream about. His successful album ‘Silk Degrees’ included all the musicians who later became the popular band, Toto, and this was one of many hit singles from that. He still performs and writes songs today, aged 73.
Lido Shuffle

British born singer Eric Burdon is best known these days as a solo artist who lives in America. But back in the 1960s, he started out as the front man for the popular group, The Animals, who had a string of hits on both sides of the Atlantic. In 1970, he teamed up with the American funk band, War, and released two incredible albums that defy placement in a genre. I could use most of the tracks from those in this series, as I like them so much. However, here is a track by the band without Burdon, released in 1975. It’s a good one to use for ‘L’, and it is unashamedly funky too.
Low Rider

Al Green was such an important figure on the soul scene over the years, with his distinctive voice, and the mournful love songs he was know for. I deliberately left him off of ‘G’, so that I could feature not one, but two of his classic songs beginning with the letter ‘L’.
L.O.V.E. Love

And who cannot relate to the timeless heartbreak of this one?
Let’s Stay Together

I couldn’t resist a double ‘L’, with this party favourite from Labelle. Despite numerous cover versions, some of them very good indeed, this raunchy cover of the Eleventh Hour original has endured over the years, and is still just as popular as it was in 1974. It has become the definitive version, produced by the talented Allen Toussaint.
Lady Marmalade

Stevie Wonder hasn’t featured so far, but here he is, at long last. His long and influential career has produced so many wonderful songs, but my own preference is to hear him sing a ballad, and to showcase the incredible range of his voice. Happily, the letter ‘L’ provides the perfect example, with this flawless song from a real genius.
Lately

British singer/songwriter Sam Smith has only released one album. But what an album. It made him an overnight international star, and rightly so. He has a magical tone, a massive vocal range, and his songs speak to everyone at many different levels. His second record is eagerly awaited, but every track on the first one is worth listening to. This one starts with ‘L’, fortunately.
Lay Me Down

This is my top pick for today. It takes me back to a time, a place, and a sound. A time of change in my life, but a good time, nonetheless.
Baby D was a British House Music act formed by Phil Fearon, and fronted by his wife, Dee Galdes-Fearon.
They had some huge hits from their 1996 debut album ‘Deliverance’, including this 1992 song, which has become an anthem. I was over 40 years old when I first heard it, and I thought it was simply wonderful.
I still love it just as much, 25 years later. Makes an old man’s feet move…
Let Me Be Your Fantasy

Believe me, I have only scratched the surface of ‘L’. There are at least 50 other songs I could have added, so plenty of scope for you to add your own choices.

47 thoughts on “A Musical A-Z: L

  1. Sorry I haven’t been playing along Pete. There are just too many songs to choose from.
    Your choices are more soulful than mine, and all sound great.

    I’ll throw a couple of my favs out there:

    Love Will Tear Us Apart is a favourite – the closest Joy Division came to a dance song;
    Living in the Past by Jethro Tull – the title tells you all you need to know about my musical taste, but I love Tull’s early albums
    Laughing by David Crosby – a beautiful moody song
    Lonely At The Top by Randy Newman – so hilarious
    LA Woman and Love Her Madly by the Doors – the soundtrack to my youth

    Cheers

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Not to worry, Peter. Your sterling work on the film challenge was more than enough.
      The Jethro Tull song, and Joy Division song (the only one of theirs I liked) were both on the shortlist, but my soul/ballad side has been surfacing more than usual during this series. Thanks for your other suggestions too.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love Lady Marmalade Pete! I’d also add: Lenny Kravitz, Leslie Odom Jr. (Hamilton), Led Zeppelin, Lindsey Buckingham, Lindsey Stirling, Linda Ronstadt, Linkin Park, Lionel Ritchie, Lorde, Lady Gaga, and Lynyrd Skynyrd. For songs:
    Lady – Stevie Nicks
    Lady Lynda – Beach Boys
    Lady Madonna – Beatles
    Land of Confusion – Genesis
    Landslide – Fleetwood Mac
    Lay a Your Hands On Me – David Bowie
    Live and Let Die – Both the Paul McCartney and Guns n Roses versions

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love that so many other songs are being offered up by other bloggers…your choices are inspired, and while you let others bring up Led Zeppelin, I will as well, with one of their shorter songs, the catchy “Night Flight” from “Physical Graffiti” – the Eagles must make an appearance for “Life In The Fast Lane” as I drive by the real “Hotel California” every single day – and finally, how about ending with a bit of an obvious choice, but “Light My Fire” still holds up, doesn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ‘Light My Fire’ holds up, whether by The Doors, or the Jose Feliciano version. It’s a great song!
      I try to avoid most of the obvious ones, John. Gives people more to play with.
      Thanks for your extra suggestions.
      best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m a huge Al Green fan, he deserves the double billing. The singer for London Grammar is great, I must have heard that song, but glad you posted the video. 3 more bands beginning with “L”:
    I’ve read that it’s not cool to like this singer, because she’s “commercial” but Lana del Ray has a great voice. Less Than Jake is a punk/ska band that’s fun. And here’s an obscure band from the ’80’s, in my dad’s collection, “Let’s Active”. It is an acquired taste – the singer Mitch Easter sounded like an escapee from The Chipmunks, but a very very clever songwriter and a really addictive sound, once you get past the chipmunk thing. Have a great weekend! RPT

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Robert. I’m not cool then, as I love Lana Del Ray’s voice too!
      (But I wasn’t ever cool anyway…)
      Some unusual and most welcome choices from you, as well as your confirmation of the wonderful Al Green’s talent.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. You really ought to visit Madison, Wis. I know you’ve spiritually been there, but I can confirm it is a beautiful part of the country and a lovely city. Okay, letter L. Love Boz Scaggs the best from your list. Your interests vary from mine quite a bit which is fine.
    L for me would include Linda Ronstadt, Led Zeppelin, and Level 42. Love “Something about You” and “Lessons in Love”.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. As I said about the films, Cindy, it would be very boring if we all liked the same stuff. πŸ™‚
      As you will see in another reply, Level 42 is my wife’s all-time favorite group, so I am a bit overdosed on them.
      I doubt I will ever get to Madison, but that’s OK. I’m certain I have already been there, at least in a dream.
      Best wishes as always, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Getting ahead of myself with “Little Drummer Boy” and showing my age with “Leader of the Pack”.
    Love how your readers and posts bring back so many memories with these lists!!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Songs~. Lady Antebellum ~ You Look Good, Lady Gaga~ You and I,
    Albums~ Level 42~World Machine, Thunder~ Laughing on Judgement Day
    Artists~ Led Zeppelin

    and London Grammar~ lead singer the incredibly beautiful Hannah Read with an equally beautiful voice

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know London Grammar, and they are very good. Level 42 is Julie’s favourite group of all time, so I got a little tired of hearing their stuff. She even went on holiday to the Isle of Wight, so she could go to Mark King’s bar, and have her photo taken with him!
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Start with my double…..”Locomotion” by Little Eva…….artists….Little Richard, Little Feat, Lemon Peppers and Lou Reed….now for the tunes….”lola” by the Kinks…”Lean on me” Bill Withers, “London Calling” the Clash, “Locomotive Breath” Jethro Tull, “Long Cool Woman” the Hollies and “Love Train” the O’Jays……whew! coffee time…LOL chuq

    Liked by 2 people

All comments welcome

