A Musical A-Z: M

I warn you, there is so much choice with ‘M’, I’m going to need a bigger post! (Blatant ‘Jaws’ rip off)
As usual, I would love you to play along. You can add any album, artist, song title, or group, as long as the name begins with ‘M’.

Without hesitation, I am going to feature another song from the excellent British group, ELO. I saved this one for ‘M’, as it has been on my mind since ‘E’. Unusual in structure, and with the distinctive voice of front man Jeff Lynne, it is a British anthem to rival anything.
Mister Blue Sky

Moloko are known for the distinctive voice of Irish singer Roisin Murphy, who also performs solo on occasion. I could not let ‘M’ pass without including a track from this great group, but I agonised for ages over which one to choose. In the end, I chose one that has some significance for me. It was released in 2000, the year I met Julie, so the title and lyrics seemed to be very appropriate indeed. That fact almost made it my top choice. Listen to that bass line. Please.
It really doesn’t get much better than this.
The Time Is Now

Curtis Mayfield has done so much, so where do I start? He was the lead singer of The Impressions, before going solo. Since then. he has done a considerable amount of important work, including producing, writing, film soundtracks, and collaborations with so many other artists. His death in 1999 robbed us of a magnificent talent. He deserves many mentions here, but I will settle for three.
We Gotta Have Peace

And from the previous year, 1970. A Soul classic.
Move On Up

We lost one of the very best.
With the British band, The Blow Monkeys. A political song.
Celebrate the Day

Tears for Fears are a British duo that produced wonderful songs from the talent of Roland Orzibal, and the front man, Curt Smith. I would happily add most of their song catalogue to this post, but this is a well-known, and classic pick for ‘M’. Forget the popular version from Gary Jules, this is the real thing.
Mad World

As this is going to be much longer post than usual, I am going to feature yet another song from the marvellous talent of British singer/songwriter, Adele. And why not?
Make You Feel My Love

Most of you will have noticed that I have not yet featured a song from Michael Jackson. I confess that I do not own one of his records, despite his influence over the years. However, I do really like this song. So, as I am enjoying the luxury of an exceptionally long post, here he is.
Man In The Mirror

I am not known for my love of American Indie bands. But I will make an exception for the vocal talents of Michael Stipe, and REM. They have released some amazing records over the years, not least this one.
Do you believe?
Man on the Moon

In 1969, Jimmy Cliff was known as a reggae artist, and he had enjoyed success. He then released this song, which has been covered by more singers than I could ever list. Combining Gospel, Reggae, and Soul, it has endured ever since, and is still sung by almost everybody, into the 21st century. Simply heartbreaking.
Many Rivers To cross

OK, I am reluctantly moving on to my top pick for today. ‘M’ could literally go on all day, but I have to leave something for everyone else, despite my disappointment.

German singer, DJ, producer, and all round fantastic entertainer, Billie Ray Martin has released the one album that I would take to a desert island, without hesitation. It is the first CD I would rescue from a fire, and an enduring love of my later life. In 1995, she issued ‘Deadline For My Memories’. I was instantly overwhelmed by the talent on display. The self-penned songs, the powerful vocals, production, and torch-song wonder. I cannot possibly choose just one, so I apologise for that weakness. Here is the sublime title track, to begin with. I am well-aware that this voice will not appeal to everyone.
But I really don’t care…She is just wonderful.
Deadline For My Memories

From the same album, and equally overwhelming, it just broke my heart. Again. I could simply add the whole thing, every track. And I wrote a blog post about it too.
You And I Keep Holding On.

47 thoughts on “A Musical A-Z: M

  1. Tears for Fears is performing in AZ and I wish I could go! They are a dear duo to me. Love your ELO choice and REM. For me, what comes to mind is Van Morrison, surely someone has said Paul McCartney “Maybe I’m Amazed,” George’s “My Sweet Lord”, “My Eyes Adored You”, “Major Tom”, and three cheers for everything Glenn Miller.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I could easily have featured more from Van, Cindy. But I tend to favour too many artists, so have to discipline myself.
      ‘Maybe I’m Amazed’ is my favourite song from McCartney’s solo career, and a great choice for ‘M’. (One of a few of his I like, a very few…)
      ‘Major Tom’ is actually called ‘Space Oddity’, so not an ‘M’, unless you mean the song from German singer Peter Schilling, which was called ‘Major Tom: Coming Home’?
      Best wishes as always, Pete.

      Like

  2. Songs, You’re heart is as black as night ~ Melodie Gardo, Show me Heaven,~ Maria McKee, Something gotten hold of my heart~ Gene Pitney/Marc Almond version
    Artists~ Martina McBride, Maria Carey (before she went stupid), Montrose
    Album~ Maverick a Strike ~Finlay Quay
    TV Theme tune~ Moonlighting~Al Jarreau

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lots of good songs here, and some I don’t know.

    A few of my Olde Englishe (and Scottishe and Irishe) songs are these:

    Matty Groves by Fairport Convention – 8 minutes of driving electric folk with the sublime Sandy Denny;
    Mandolin Wind and Maggie May by Sir Roderick Stewart in his more bluesy days;
    Madame George for more long-windedness by Van the Man; plus
    Marcus Garvey and Man in the Hills by Burning Spear to go with your Jimmy Cliff

    Cheerio

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Curtis Mayfield! Yes! And Martha and the Vandellas. Here’s some more recent”M” bands: Madrugada. Manu Chao is a pretty cool guy. Mazzy Star. Matthew Sweet (good solid pop), Morcheeba, My Morning Jacket (wild guys from Kentucky) And some jazz artists: Chuck Mangione (Rochester, NYโ€™s own). David Murray (World Saxophone Quartet) Have a great weekend! RPT

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Monk Time by The Monks

    Mosaics by My Disco

    Mother Puncher by Mastodon

    As you can see I’m now seeing if I can name both artist and song with the letter and I’ve amazingly come up with three for M

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dynamite! I am seeing Tears For Fears in two weeks in LA – opening for Daryl Hall & John Oates – as for “M” songs how about “Monday Monday” by The Mamas & The Papas – “Manic Monday” by The Bangles or “My Aim Is True” by Elvis Costello!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Lucky you, John! That Costello album was on the first list, but I tend to feature him almost as much as Steely Dan, so used some different examples…And I had used ‘Alison’ from that previously.
      Thanks for your additions as always.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. My hat’s off to you, Beetley. Man in the Mirror is my personal favorite Michael Jackson song. Not sure if you’re into hip hop but “Mistadobalina” by Del the Funky Homosapien is a great one from the early 90s. Del happens to also be Ice Cube’s cousin. I’m also a sucker for “Manic Monday” by the Bangles. Also, the group Mobb Deep with “Shook Ones” out of respect for the recent death of rapper Prodigy.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. You’re right Pete. M is rife with choices. (I loved your Jaws reference!LOL!) I’m going to try to name a few that I don’t think anyone’s mentioned yet.
    Musicians: Meat Loaf, Maroon 5, My Chemical Romance, Muse, Matchbox 20, Melissa Etheridge, Metallica, Midnight Oil, and this’ll sound odd, but Monty Python. For songs:
    Manic Monday – Bangles
    Mad About You – Belinda Carlise
    Madagascar- Guns N’Roses
    Made Of Stone – Evanescence
    Magic – The Cars
    Magical Mystery Tour – Beatles
    Magnificent – U2

    And I was going to list more, but I’ve got to go rescue dinner!

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Good choices,Pete.

    Two songs; Metal Guru (T Rex) and Modern Love (D Bowie). Plus Mr Brightside (The Killers .

    The first band I saw live was Man at the Top Rank in Cardiff (I think they are still touring, at least they were a few years ago). Then there is Manic Street Preachers, Mogwai, Martha and the Muffins, and Muse.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, Ian. I had mentioned Martha and The Muffins with ‘E’ (Echo Beach), and Bowie too. If not, I would have definitely chosen ‘Modern Love’. The Manic Street Preachers would have featured on ‘D’, with the wonderful ‘Design For Life’, but I tried to keep the posts short. I am featuring a Muse song, (covered by Lily Allen) in another letter, later on.
      Cheers mate, Pete.

      Like

  10. I met a woman one day that made me pause to myself, “I’m going to need a bigger…..”

    (Your “Jaws” reference… sorry.)

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Twice? Cool! I start with a double double……”Mercy, Mercy, Me”–Marvin Gaye and “Monday Monday” by Mamas and Papas…..Artists…..Manfred Mann, Moody Blues, The Miracles and Mott the Hoople……Songs…..”Mr. Tambourine Man” by the Byrds, “Mony, Mony” by Tommy James and the Shondells, “money” by pink Floyd and :Maggie Mae” by Rod Stewart…I must rest now….tasking my brain…LOL have a good evening my friend…..chuq

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, chuq. Mott The Hoople were on my mind, but I had already mentioned Bowie’s version of their big hit. The Miracles might feature with a song title, when I get to ‘G’. If I have space for them.
      Best wishes, Pete/

      Liked by 1 person

All comments welcome

