A Musical A-Z: Q

Getting tricky now, with ‘Q’. (As I expect it will with ‘X’…)
Play along if you can. Any band, album, song, or artist, as long as there is a ‘Q’ in the name.

British band Queen is obviously going to come immediately to mind to many people. I am not a huge fan of this group to be honest, even though I thought that ‘Bohemian Rhapsody’ was something of a musical revelation at the time. However, a few years before that, I did buy one of their singles. This one.
Killer Queen

Before Paul Young embarked on his successful solo career, he was the lead singer in British soul band The Q-Tips. They didn’t do that well, quite frankly, especially once Mr Young left them. But here they are with the cover of the old soul song. You can easily make out Paul Young’s vocal. It’s far from being a great song, I admit, but I’m struggling with ‘Q’!
Some Kind Of Wonderful

A nice old one from The Moody Blues. They were leaving behind their Blues & Soul roots, to embark on a career as one of the big bands on the progressive rock scene. I liked them doing stuff like ‘Go Now’, with Denny Laine on vocals. But this was a big hit, and showed the direction they were taking at the time. (1970)
Question

Garbage once again, with Shirley Manson on top vocal form, and a POV video from 1995.
Queer

Well, the troublesome ‘Q’ has made this a shorter post, and left me struggling for sure. Luckily, I always had my top pick, courtesy of the ever-reliable David Bowie. So here he is again, from the album ‘Hunky Dory’, released in 1971.
Queen Bitch

Good luck with ‘Q’. I hope you surprise me!

43 thoughts on “A Musical A-Z: Q

  1. Hm, Q ist a very difficult letter! The only band I know is Queen!
    Que sera sera was already mentioned.
    I never heard about Q-Tips and Garbage. But garbage sounds great.
    And I`m so happy to hear Question again!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are right…Q is a short one….Queen was all I had…but tunes are a bit easier….”Quasar” by Smashing Pumpkins……”Queen of the Highway” by the Doors….aand “Question” by the Moody Blues… I’m tapped…onto “R”….chuq

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think the Q-tips deserve an additional prize, for one of the most awkward album covers of all time. I can just hear the photographer saying “Perfect! Now just hold that pose while I move these lights…hold it…hold it…”
    I don’t sing aloud with the radio too often, but when Queen does “Bohemian Rhapsody” it is mandatory!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Well, I’m back where I started, Pete. All I could think of was Queen, which of course you mentioned right away; and that led me to the song, “Queen of Hearts”. That’s all folks…..

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Only one for me, Finlay Quay and the brilliant album Maverick a strike, won the Best British Male Solo Artist at the BRITs in 1998 and went double-platinum. Although the only lasting souvenir of his commercial and artistic success, it remains a great album, full of quirkiness, sophistication and well-written tunes. In my top 3 and the single you might remember

    Liked by 1 person

  6. A tricky one indeed, I know the Smiths had the Queen is dead album, but off the top of my head I have little else. Seeing the Q-Tips album cover I now know where Alan Partridge got his styling from πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m going to cheat here and go with Q-tip from A Tribe Called Quest. He had a cool cameo in Janet Jackson’s “Got Til It’s Gone” as well as that quirky and fun little 1990s jam from Dee-Lite, “Groove is in the Heart.” There’s also Questlove from the Roots. My favorite song from the Roots is “Proceed.” It’s not “Q” but it features a “Q”uestlove! I’m pathetic. Only song with “Q” I can even think of is “Quit Playing Games (With My Heart)” by Backstreet Boys. Am I even allowed to comment anymore if I mention the Backstreet Boys?

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I love Queen! For me the the first band that comes to mind for Q. As always, I’m going to do my best not to repeat other’s picks, although I have to say I love David Bowie’s Queen Bitch, and Bruce Springsteen’s Quarter To Three.
    Artists: Quiet Riot, Queen Latifah, Queensryche, Quincy Jones. For songs:
    Quasar – Smashing Pumpkins
    Que Sera, Sera – Doris Day
    Queen of Hearts – Gregg Allman
    Queen of Peace – Florence & the Machine
    Queen of the Supermarket – Bruce Springsteen
    Questions For the Angels – Paul Simon
    Quick – Jill Scott
    Quiet Storm – Smoky Robinson
    Question – System Of A Down

    Liked by 1 person

All comments welcome

