A Musical A-Z: Z

The final letter of this musical journey down the alphabet. It’s been fun, and I have really enjoyed having everyone playing along with their choices and suggestions, as well as revisiting many of the favourite sounds from a lifetime of enjoying music. ‘Z’ has some options, so please do your best to play along in the last of this series. Any song, album, band, or artist, as long as the name begins with ‘Z’.

I will start off with more from the marvellous David Bowie. I really couldn’t leave out this classic song from his brilliant career.
Ziggy Stardust

Not usually my type of thing, but the success of the Irish rock band The Cranberries is undeniable. The lead singer, Dolores O’Riordan, has a great tone, and an amazingly powerful voice. As a bonus, she also sings with an Irish accent, instead of an American one. Not only that, they had a big hit with a song that starts with ‘Z’!
Zombie

Two men with huge beards, and a third who is clean shaven. Fun videos, and guitar rock. Yes, I am talking about ZZ Top, and this is the only song of theirs I ever really liked. Mainly because of the video, to be honest.
Gimme All Your Lovin’

As promised, the original version of the song ‘Valerie’, from The Zutons. I still prefer Mark Ronson and Amy’s cover, but you knew that. This is very good though.
Valerie

The rest of this post is dedicated to one of my favourite recording artists of all time, and fortunately, one whose surname begins with a ‘Z’. Consider these next songs to be an amalgamated top pick for today, and for those of you who do not like Frank Zappa, look away now. Consummate musician, insanely clever lyricist, and all-round funny man too, I could write a whole series of posts on his work. But I won’t, so don’t worry. To start off, here is the the song about a dental floss bush, and that pygmy pony.
Montana

I never thought I would hear the words ‘rancid poncho’ in a song. But I did, and I loved it.
Camarillo Brillo

I will end on a short one, and a real personal favourite. Now I’m off, to knock all the jockeys off the rich people’s lawns.
Uncle Remus

Thanks again for all your efforts, I will be publishing an appraisal of these alphabet challenges after this.

44 thoughts on “A Musical A-Z: Z

  1. When I went to Vilnius in Lithuania there was a statue of Frank Zappa in one of the squares. He has no connection to Lithuania and no Lithuanian heritage but apparently they love his music so they made him an honorary Lithuanian.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for that suggestion TTT. It doesn’t matter if I don’t like them, they are all part of the musical world that everyone loves. Different tastes and opinions are what life is all about.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great choice. I never heard about The Zutons – but I prefer Valerie by Amy. What else? 😉 The first time i heard that song was by Amy!

    I add the Italian singer Zucchero, and the German singer Joana Zimmer ( she is a blind young woman with a wonderful voice – she is singing in english ).

    Are you sure there are no more letters left?
    It was a great challange! Tank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks once again for playing along, Irene. I have heard of Zucchero, but not of Ms Zimmer.
      I also prefer ‘Valerie’ sung by Amy Winehouse, but I have to give credit to the Zutons for writing it.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  3. Great list Pete, way to end the series…I have met with Zappa’s kids on a TV project, and they were well-grounded, smart and personable – nice tribute to their Dad – as for my own Z, the late Warren Zevon had many hits like “Werewolves Of London”, but his farewell song “Keep Me In Your Heart” is something special, as it deals with his own death: ‘Shadows are fallin’ and I’m runnin’ out of breath
    Keep me in your heart for a while
    If I leave you it doesn’t mean I love you any less
    Keep me in your heart for a while”

    His advice for people? “Enjoy every sandwich”…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. For the life of me I couldn’t come up with a song for ‘Z’ and only ZZ-Top and The Zombies for two groups entries – and I see you have good-ole ZZ-top already in. I expected that.

    Liked by 1 person

All comments welcome

