Five years of blogging

I was notified by WordPress yesterday. They informed me that the day was my fifth anniversary of blogging, since the 31st of July, 2012. Those five years have gone quickly, don’t they always?

Remember when you thought that 10 views was exciting? I do. If you got a comment, just the one, it made your day. If you got four comments, you might go so far as to telephone people about it, in your excitement. Just looking at the stats was exciting. If you had eight visitors, you were over the moon. Eight people read your blog post. That was fine, and good enough.

On my fifth anniversary, I enjoyed a total of 203 views, from 108 visitors. As of now today, I have received 190 views, from 101 visitors. In the wider world of blogging, that is just a few hours. But in my world, it is amazing, and more that I ever hoped for. So, I celebrate my fifth anniversary, and relish the engagement, and everyone who bothers to visit and read my blog.

Once again, my best wishes to you all. Pete.

82 thoughts on “Five years of blogging

    1. You are young, and no doubt something will come along to disrupt the ‘blogging urge’. Or maybe not? Either way, it can be a rewarding experience, as well as a cathartic one. I didn’t start until I retired, aged 60. So, I have a lot of time on my hands, and a lifetime of experiences to write about, as well as my new life in Norfolk, and having a dog…
      I hope that you are still around in five years too. If I can ever be of any assistance, please contact me at petejohnson50@yahoo.com.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, and again a big grin on my face! Thank you so much for your words in German. I often use the google translator, but sometimes I understand without it. You write wonderful! I am grateful that I am allowed to belong to your readers.
        A big hug. Irene

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Congratulations! Your faithfulness and community mindedness has certainly paid off! For various reasons, I’ve been away from the blogging world for nearly a year now, but hope to get back to it in the next day or two. So glad to have come back in time to wish you well!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Many congratulations on your 5th Bloggiversary Pete.

    I’m one of those who doesn’t comment much, but that doesn’t mean that I don’t enjoy your posts. They are always eloquent, historical, newsy, thought provoking.

    What I read is the tip of the iceberg, compared to all of the work in the background.

    Well done and best wishes for the 10th ‘bloggiversary’

    Regards
    James

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congrats! You have evolved over the years to become an emotional friend of mine. What a pity you are “virtual”. I often wonder what we’d say if we had some wine and looked up at the cloudy skies of Beetley. You are admired and respected. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So kind as always, Cindy. Perhaps one day we will meet, and talk about the things we like, and those we don’t. Either way, our ‘relationship’ is treasured by me, as you know.
      Best wishes, Pete. x

      Like

  4. Cheers to you, Pete! This is indeed a date to celebrate. Yes, I remember those moments and milestones, too. We bloggers do have a special community. So, here’s to you, Pete, on your fifth anniversary. πŸŽ‰

    Liked by 1 person

        1. A reasonable article, but I would dispute this comment.
          “he was wrong that this would lead to wages being driven down to subsistence level”
          The workers on minimum wage here barely manage to exist is a way acceptable in the modern world. So, I reckon Karl got that prediction right.
          Best wishes, Pete.

          Liked by 1 person

All comments welcome

