Yet another camera

This is a very niche post, only of interest to fellow photographers, or camera collectors. If you have no interest in anything camera related, please delete now.

Once again, I have bought yet another camera. This one.

I bought it second hand, and have yet to receive it, so will report on its use later. This has taken my camera collection to a figure best described as ‘too many’. As well as the Fuji X-30 that I use for most of the photos on this blog, I also have a Fuji S5 digital slr, with a short zoom lens, and flashgun. In the loft, I have a selection of Olympus ‘clamshell’ film cameras, together with my former pride and joy, the Minolta Dynax 7 film camera, with the amazing 24-105 lens. Somewhere, I also have a Praktica slr with a 50mm lens, and many ‘collectible’ cameras, dating back to the 1930s. They remain unused, but treasured still. Also tucked away, an early Fuji 610 digital compact, and an instant film camera, the Fuji Instax.

So, why the new one? When this Sony camera came out, it interested me a great deal. A Carl Zeiss lens, zooming from 24mm, to 200mm, and the maximum aperture available was a constant f2.8; amazing for a bridge camera, with a fixed lens. Add almost any modern camera function you can think of, from steady-shot, panorama, HDR, and video, through to every special feature imaginable, then this camera warranted serious consideration. But it was ludicrously expensive back then. The launch price was close to Β£1,300 and even when it was reduced to closer to Β£1,000, I was still nowhere near justified in spending that much.

I watched it for a few years, and waited for a good secondhand example to appear, at a price I could not only afford, but be happy to pay. This week, one turned up on the website of a respected Norfolk camera dealer, and I bought it online. Less than a third of the last retail price, so a potential bargain. I will let you know what I think when it is delivered, and hopefully bring you many examples of what it is capable of. The 1″ sensor is more than three times larger than that of my X-30, and every review I have read of this camera has been very positive. Once it stops raining, I hope to be able to get back into my photography in a big way, and post lots more photos. Watch this space!

27 thoughts on “Yet another camera

    1. Posting some tomorrow. I think it needs more use of exp/comp than the Fuji, but early days! Besides, the light was poor today, despite no rain for once.
      The lens is very nice, with just enough zoom at 200 mm.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Cheers, Ian. I have been meaning to get one for a while, attracted by that Zeiss lens. Just arrived today, and it was in excellent condition; boxed, and hardly used. I have just been all through the setup menu, so if it ever stops raining, I might even take some photos with it!
      One niggle, is that the battery and memory card insertion are both unnecessarily fiddly, but I can live with that.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

    1. I used to be much worse at one time. I had an inordinate amount of film cameras and lenses. I could just about lift the huge Billingham bag I used to cart around. These things are toys, by comparison! πŸ™‚
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. In the late 70s, I met a nuclear physicist who worked for the government. Since he could not take his work home with him, he collected cameras. He is long gone and I have often wondered what happened to his collection. Your collection and my accumulation of stamps got me to thinking, I need to organize and put notes with things telling whoever survives me what they might do with the accumulated items.

    I wish you many hours of joy with your new camera. It looks to be a pip!

    Warmest regards, Theo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It arrived today, Theo. It is not that big, and mostly lens, with a handgrip! Unfortunately, the 10th day of heavy rain has prevented me trying it out. Fingers crossed for some ‘camera weather’.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations! You made a real good deal. πŸ™‚
    For two years I’ve dreamed of a Nikon D 5200, and I thought I could never afford it. Then, some months before a big photo-fair in Cologne, the price dropped nearly around half. And I did not hesitate one minute to fulfill my dream. πŸ˜‰
    I wish you endless joy with your new camera. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Kerin. My Fuji S5 is a re-badged Nikon D200, with a Nikon short Zoom. The only difference is a Fuji processor Nikon make very good cameras, so I can imagine that you are enjoying yours.
      Best wishes, Pete..

      Like

  3. Looking forward to seeing the photos!

    My father had the same camera for most of his life. It only took black and white photographs of a quality proportional to its age, but he didn’t mind because he was colour blind and liked to develop his pictures himself. Eventually, he lost it whilst on holiday, whereupon the insurance company valued it… as a collector’s item!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great! My husband bought me that very camera a couple months ago and I love it! At first it was daunting to me, but since the controls and menus are similar to my compact Sony RX100M3 I was able to start using it immediately. I’m still learning photography and have much to learn about the camera too but I’m enjoying the process. It will be great to see what you can do with it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A great coincidence indeed, Susanne. It is much the same internally as your Sony RX 100 mk3 of course, but the lens is what this camera is all about. It’s more like a lens with a handle, than a camera!
      Once it stops raining, (if it ever does) I will try it out. It arrived this morning, and is currently on charge.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks. Great review and a good website for future reference! My husband had consulted with our photographer friend who did a lot of research before recommending this for me. It was an excellent choice; the camera is great! Now I just have to catch up with it!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I always use aperture priority mode, and set the aperture on the ring, depending how much depth of field I want in the photo. I also use single point autofocus, and have set a nine square grid in the viewfinder, for help with compositions and levelling. I prefer to use the viewfinder all the time, and never use the screen at the back, except to review what I have taken.

          Liked by 1 person

    1. John, I have to confess it is as much a passion for collecting cameras, as for using them! πŸ™‚
      Just as well I don’t have unlimited funds, or I would have a whole room full of them…
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

All comments welcome

