Very sad news

I received a notification of a blog post today, from one of the blogs that I have followed since I started out, in 2012. I hadn’t seen much from that blog lately, so I was keen to open the post.
Then I read this.

August 12, 2017

Nandia Vlachou (1975-2017)

“Nandia has passed away on the sunrise of the 8th of June 2017. This blog will no longer be updated, although its contents will remain available in memoriam.

Her husband.”

I can’t tell you how sad this made me feel. Nandia was a married woman, with children who are not that old. She lived in Portugal with her family, and worked as an art historian, and writer. Her articles were always fascinating, and written to a high standard. We shared many blog conversations about films, and she was a great supporter of my blog too. Although we never met, I considered her a real friend, and I was always humbled by her intelligence and experience.

Her blog will remain open for posterity, for all who want to read her work, or enjoy the many images she posted there. I will miss her a lot, and miss her comments on posts, and her opinions on anything. There will be no further posts, and no replies to comments. But if you ever want to have a look at a very classy blog, then follow this link.
https://iknowwhereimgoing.wordpress.com/category/film/

Rest in peace, dear Nandia.

58 thoughts on “Very sad news

  1. Pete, I took a quick look at her blog. It looks like one I’ll want to explore. It’s sad to find out about a wonderful blog after the passing of the author. But better late than never, I suppose. Thanks for bringing this blog to my attention.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am very sorry for your loss. We are reaching that age when all too often we will lose our friends and/or family. It doesn’t get any easier either, but we can try to be strong for each other’s sake.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Pete, I shall enjoy discovering her work. In a way, she will always be here through her work for many others to discover. On one of my blogs today, I did a mini tribute to one who has been gone for about forty years but still impacts us more than many ever realize. Thanks for the introduction. Léa

        Liked by 1 person

  3. So sad, Pete. I hadn’t come across Nadia’s blog, but will look it up now. I’ve also ‘lost’ a few blogger friends and still feel this loss. I think about them often, and this is a kind of posterity, I suppose…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. She was originally from Greece I understand, Marina. Her full name was Nandia Foteini Vlachou.
      She is the first of the community bloggers I have lost like this, although some others have just ‘disappeared’.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Like you, I am used to those blogging absences, even those who just give up, and never blog again. But this was the first time I had seen a post like this, informing of a death. I applaud her husband for doing it, and letting us all know.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Jack, and for the re-blog too. It is strange how connected you can feel to someone’s blog name, a few details about their life, and some articles. Says a lot about the power of a blogging community to involve its members.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This is so sad, Pete. While I did not know Nandia or her blog, it makes me think of all my (our) fellow bloggers. We are a community. And, death is just so very sad. A fellow blogger that I follow is not well at all, and the first thing I do each day when I read my bloggers posts, is read his first, holding my breath that all is okay for the day. My heart goes out to Nandia’s family. Thank you for this post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your kind words, Jennie. A bereavement in our small blogging community is no different to one in the physical community. In fact, I think I feel it more, because I actually know most bloggers far better than I do my neighbours.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. One of the inherent drawbacks to chatting in chat rooms and blogging is that when a name “vanishes” we never know the reason… and many times it’s the end of a person’s life or crippling illness.

    I am an amateur radio operator and in the world of ham radio this is also a situation of real life… a person “vanishes” from the airwaves. In this radio world we refer to the deceased hammer as being a “dead key”; a term of great respect, drawn from the radio past when a person does not send out transmissions from their telegraph key anymore.

    Perhaps there’s some similar equivalent of community respect to be shown to fellow bloggers, and those who communicate publicly over the Internet. Whether we communicate to other humans by dots and dashes, bits and bytes, voice, or quick posts of 140 characters from the smart phone… when our friends vanish so does a part of each of us. On the other hand… a part of them will always stay with us.

    Liked by 1 person

All comments welcome

