Word Challenge: Y

Please add your choices for this letter. Foreign language words (with translation) are welcome, and American spellings are allowed too. No abbreviations though.

Yesteryear.
I confess to dwelling in the past too often, but make no apologies for that.

Yucky.
A near-perfect word to describe anything messy, sticky, or unpleasant. Like the stuff in the drain outside our kitchen window, which I have to drag out with my hands, when it gets blocked.

Yearning.
As in, “He was always yearning for better weather”.

64 thoughts on “Word Challenge: Y

  1. Good Morning Pete:
    In Y the economic terms all involve YIELD (we’ll not go into codes or ticker symbols this time). No, it has nothing to do with a competition between knights, boxers or wrestlers, Rather yield is that stuff you get from an investmentโ€”more money. We can measure YIELD and put it on a YIELD CURVE which compares the returns on bonds with different maturity (some issued in days of yesteryear and some further back). Then there is the yearning to obtain a smaller YIELD GAP (since it compares the average yield on equities with the average yield on bonds, we hope for a positive number when we are into bonds and negative when we are into equities. Otherwise, it is a very yucky experience.
    Warmest regards, Theo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good words, Pete. “Yearning” is a great one to describe so many goals and aspirations we all have.

    I like these words – which I didn’t, indeed, look up:

    “yellowback” – cheap sensational novel – well, I always knew of “yellow journalism”, pertaining to overblown headlines and suspect sourcing of stories, so I’d call this type of novel “pulp fiction” instead.

    “Yobbery” – according to a dictionary, it refers to hooliganism…a pure english word, does that sound correct?

    “Youthquake” – the series of cultural upheavals of the 1960s…I like the sound of that!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yob, Yobs, and Yobbery are all used here to describe youths who gather in groups for the purposes of vandalism, intimidation, theft, etc. Good choice! My dad used to tell me that it was an acronym for ‘Young Obnoxious Bastard’.
      I hadn’t heard of Youthquake or Yellowback, nice additions.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yucky is a great word, although my mother always used to use the Welsh expression of disgust ‘ach-y-fi’ which, to me, sounded even more expressive.

    On a similar onomatopoeic theme, yowl and yelp are good words. And I’ll add yellow because, apparently, it’s the most universally hated colour, so I think it needs a break!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yesteryear has a nice sound to it, and goes with “days of yore”.
    I see “yaw” listed, I always had to look that up, when watching shows about NASA and the Apollo program.
    Not too much to offer, us yokels are having a hard time with this letter.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yoyo, again a word that sounds like what it is (I’m sure there is a word that covers this trait?)
    Yoga, because it sounds funny, despite it causing so much pain.
    Yikes, has to get a mention as a Scooby Doo fan of the past. (the original before they messed around with it and added Scrappy.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Cheers, Eddy. I was quite good with a Yo-Yo at one time, but I always hated Scooby-Doo. I think I was too old for that one. I’m not supple enough for Yoga, but I suppose that’s the point of doing it…
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

All comments welcome

