Some things I have never done

A few years ago, I don’t recall exactly when, I heard the term ‘Bucket List’. I think it originated in America, and involved people compiling lists of things they intended to do before they ‘kicked the bucket’. (Died) Some of these were merely dreams, but most were achievable goals, given sufficient funds, and good health. This later progressed onto the blogs with adaptations, such as people listing things they wanted to do ‘Before I am 30’, and so on. They still pop up now and then, so the idea seems to have never gone away.

Over the last few years, it has occurred to me that there are not only things I will likely never do, but also lots of things I have never wanted to do, even with unlimited funds, and full fitness. On a bus journey in the rain yesterday, I got to thinking about some of those things, the fanciful, as well as the mundane.

I have never parachuted from an aircraft. I thought about it once, then discovered that my life insurance at the time would not cover me, in the event of a fatal accident. Since then, I have decided that it is not something I ever want to do.

I have not been up in a hot air balloon. I was once booked in for such an excursion, which would have taken us above Luxor in Egypt, and along part of the Nile. But the operators cancelled it, due to mechanical problems. That is something I still might do one day, if I live long enough.

I never did learn to swim. I could probably do that at the local swimming pool, or pay to attend an intensive course locally, guaranteed to have you ‘Swim in a week’. I’m not sure that I really want to though, as I have a deep-seated fear of being in water.

I have not visited America, north or south. I doubt I will ever have the money to do that now, but if I ever do, I would like to go. The same with Japan, a place that has long fascinated me.

I have never painted a picture, published a book, or performed on a stage. These three are all possibilities; things that could still happen with some training, or personal commitment.

I tried to learn to play musical instruments. At first, the double bass, and later the guitar. I didn’t have the patience to practice, and found it hard to grasp learning music, so gave up. It might be a bit late for that one now.

I have never been skiing, though I have been to places where other people were doing that. It always seemed rather silly to me, slipping down a small mountain or hillside, risking serious injury, or death. As well as that, it also seemed to be as much about what you were wearing, and the brand name on your sunglasses, so didn’t appeal. The same with mountain climbing. You go all that way, then have to try to get back down again…

I have never been on a cruise liner. Although there have been times when I could well have afforded a luxury cruise, I feared sea-sickness would spoil the experience. I did manage a cruise along the Nile, but that has no waves.

Then there are those modern fundraisers or leisure activities that have come along as I got older. Abseiling down the side of a building, bungee jumping from a bridge platform, or a crane. Running a half-marathon, competing in an ‘Iron Man’ challenge, and so many others. You are not going to hear about me participating in any of those, I assure you.
Paintballing. Running around with a group of people firing plastic balls filled with paint at each other, seeking to gain victory over another team of colleagues, friends, or strangers. I never got that, so that will never be on my list of things to do.

That just leaves me with the things I would really like to do; given the money, or the opportunity.

I would like to see the statues on Easter Island. To look at them, and wonder what they are staring at.
I would like to visit more places in Italy, and that may well be possible.
I would dearly loved to have seen the mighty castle of Krak Des Chevaliers. But as that is in Syria, and has been badly damaged by the war, I doubt that will ever happen.
I would very much like to visit more well-preserved Art Deco buildings. I have a list of favourites, though some are a little far away.

It would be nice to meet all my blogging friends. I have a fanciful notion of winning the lottery, and paying for us all to meet somewhere central, in a nice hotel. Putting flesh to faces in photos, hearing accents and voices, and sharing stories. Sometimes, it’s nice to dream.

Let me know what you would do, or what you have already done.

90 thoughts on “Some things I have never done

  1. Well, I would encourage you to visit America someday, and to also publish a book of your many excellent stories and essays.
    I have never been interested in going on a cruise. I did once thoroughly enjoy a catamaran outing off the coast of Southern Caiforna (Dana Point). We had dolphins popping up between the pontoons, and also chased some gray whales up the coast. Although I’d been on a hydrofoil from Sorrento to Capri in my university days, I really didn’t know how riding ocean waves would affect me. I actually spent the entire time at the front of the catamaran, and loved the up-and-down sensation! I should have suspected I’d enjoy it, as I’d grown up negotiating rapids on canoe trips (or “float trips,” as we call them back in the Midwest).
    My favorite activity in Nevada is, of course, rock scrambling. I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve scrambled up the Calico Hills (comprised of sandstone), a somewhat risky climb of around 700 feet, often involving the hands.
    I don’t have a bucket list of things I want to do, or places I want to visit. I’m sure it would be quite long, though. Right now, I’m just focused on my writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aren’t the comments the great fun of blogging, Pete? I’d join with you – let’s have a blogger meet – somewhere in this world! I’d love to visit your country and Japan. My Bucket List is still a work in progress.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Blogging without comments feels too sterile, Lara. They make all the difference to me, and that’s how we forge that community spirit, and get to know people better. I still haven’t won the lottery, but your name is on the list for that meeting when I do. πŸ™‚
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I read this with a saddened smile on my face. When one does thinking about the things they wished they had done. Ofourse I have ‘kicked the bucket’ once too often for not being able to have done many things, and now my life hangs in the balance with my health. I too have always wanted to ride an hot air balloon, it’s an experience to see the sights from an unusual height and I have always wanted to live in a cottage in a quaint village. I used to cut out magazines from brochures heh. Given I had sufficient funds and good health I would have liked to travel to certain places such as Tokyo and Venice for the design and the architecture I have only admired from the tv screens. For the meantime if I should recover with good health, I would much like to own a little place to call my own home. Here’s to all us dreamers who dare to dream big.

    Sincerely Sonea
    .

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I did ski-ing once, and buggered my knee up fpr 1 & 1/2 years, had an operation to make it better πŸ™‚ will never do it again! Parachuting and balloon trips would be no good for me, I am not good at heights, but would love to visit Egypt and see the ancient monuments. America is a place I’d like to go back to. Palmera was on my list until Isis blew it up, and so many ancient monuments in the middle east I now won’t get to see. :/

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It is a tragedy about the destruction of cities and monuments by ISIS. But Egypt is not too hard to do, and well-worth the effort too. It is reasonably cheap once you have paid to get there, and the sights on the banks of the Nile are amazing. Highly recommended, by me! πŸ™‚
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 2 people

  5. Wow! I too would love to meet my friends in the blogging world-one of us ought to win the lottery-of course I need to play first! haha! I would love to go to Europe and write a book. . . and you are
    not too old to learn music-look at me! I also want to paint . .Best wishes to both of us in our dreams!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. This is quite wonderful, Pete. Your adventurous list is a broad one. Art Deco buildings? Now that’s a nifty one. Me? I want to read many different books that I haven’t had time to read. I want more time to write. I’d like to see the Grand Canyon, visit Italy once again, and also England. Like you, I’d like to meet other bloggers, hear their voices and see their faces. At least you are close to London and could attend the Bloggers Bash in the summer. That would be something. Best to you, Pete.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, Jennie. I didn’t know about the Bloggers Bash, but I think I would prefer to meet those in this community first. If I win the lottery, perhaps we could all meet near the Grand Canyon, and I will buy the tickets! πŸ™‚
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 2 people

  7. My ‘bucket list’ mostly involves travel, too. Easter Island, Japan, Africa (I’ve been once, and loved all the animals), South America, the Buried army in Xian… As people pointed out, the older you get, the more comfort you need (would like?), so first class travel and no camping! No extreme sports, I’ve done enough of those in my life (yes, including skiing) and have the scars to show for it.
    But I’m all for meeting bloggy friends! We could all chip in – especially if some of us do win the lottery!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. When I was little I was fascinated by exotic place names and consider myself lucky to have been to some interesting places. One that I’d still like to visit is Timbuktu. As a child it seemed like the end of the world and very romantic, know different now and it’s even more interesting but I doubt I’ll ever go.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Like you, Gilly, I was fascinated by some place names as a child. One was Samarkand, which I did get to visit, and was everything I expected it to be. Another was Zanzibar, a place I have still never been. My Dad always referred to any far distant place as ‘Timbuktu’, and it wasn’t until I was in my teens that I even knew it was a real town, and in West Africa.
      I also used to like to say the name Mogadishu, but I don’t think I want to visit that city any time soon. πŸ™‚
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Hi Pete, well I’ve done a few things (too many to mention here) and not all good. But highlight so far has been Great Wall of China and the Terracotta Army in Xian.
    But if you ever get to visit Japan, then only a short trip to New Zealand would follow, where you could see some Art Deco buildings in Napier. You can be assured I will have a bed for you and Julie here in Dunedin NZ

    Liked by 2 people

  10. My wishes are pretty simple. I would like to live long enough to get to see my grandkids have kids. My grandmother lived until my daughter was born, and it was wonderful to have four generations together. But I can’t control that one. Otherwise, I am actually pretty content to just go deeper into the life I have here, learning, reading, writing.

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Some are achievable, some are not, some are just dreams in our lifetime. We are growing old and that lessens the opportunity to do the things we should have done before and challenge ourselves in the process.

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Visiting the statues on Easter Island is one thing I would love to do too, dear Pete. And making a long journey around the world. Spending a long time in Southern Tirol. And in Italy. And I would love to buy a campervan and cruising around. Visit Southern France and especially Rennes-le-Chateau. πŸ˜‰ Moving up the Burji Khalifa in Dubai, not only to the visitors platform, but to the very top of the highest building in the world. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 2 people

  13. I enjoyed reading this Pete. While I don’t really like the term ‘bucket list’ I do like the concept. Without some consideration and a bit of planning, things just slip by. I love to travel and though I’ve been to other countries (and I’d like to make it to Europe again) I have to admit I love the U.S.A. the best. I recently realized I’d been to 36 of the States, so why not make it a point to see all 50? I just made it to Alaska for the first time (as you know from my blog) and loved it. 13 states to go. That was also my first cruise and I loved that too. So I would like to cruise the Mississippi River to pick off a few of the southern states on my list, and also around the Northeast for the same reason. That will do for now! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    1. A Mississippi cruise sounds good indeed. No seasickness issues on a river. Well done with getting to see so many parts of your home country. You live in a land of such variety, with so much to see.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 2 people

  14. Pete, Japan is truly unique, an “upside down” experience that is fascinating, fun and very different from everyday life…and you should come to America, just to see what all the fuss is about!

    I love to travel, so the following locations are on my bucket list: South African safari, Greek Islands, Peru, Vietnam, China, Hong Kong, and of course, back to Japan for first-time-ever Kyoto trip, back to Spain…you get the idea, it’s a long list!

    The best part Pete is this: you can read about great places, watch documentaries that show you life there, and read stories that others post about their experiences there – and you don’t even have to board a plane – that works for me sometimes just as well!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You have had some great travels, John, and no doubt there are more to come. I also have good memories of exotic and unusual places, but would do a few more if my financial situation ever improves.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 2 people

  15. When I was young I wanted to travel all around the world visiting unknown places. Now there is not much of the world that hasn’t been seen, and there are so many fantastic travel/nature/geography/history programmes on the TV that I have been able to see most of those I know I won’t physically get to and in comfort too. Flying is such a boring and painful experience now that I have pretty much lost interest in travelling overseas. I tore up the list of places long ago. Now I am pretty content with whatever comes my way.

    Ballooning, parachuting, abseiling, bungee jumping have never appealed to me. I have been paintballing though – with a group from work in Sheffield – let’s just say that it was an awful lot of fun, but extremely painful!! And I’d never do it again.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, Jude. In my ‘ideal world’ the necessary flying would no longer be a chore. I would go First Class, use the VIP lounge, and get chauffeured to and from the airports. But they are just dreams, and besides, what would we do with Ollie?
      I don’t think I will be going paint-balling, even though you had fun.
      Best wishes, Pete. x

      Liked by 2 people

  16. I would go on a world cruise but I’d never be happy with a modern ship so it would have to be something that looks like the Titanic but with enough lifeboats. Obviously. So that’s never going to happen. I’d like enough time to read all the books I want to read. I was also booked for a balloon ride but it was cancelled twice because of the weather so I’d still like to do that. Orient Express probably wouldn’t be the same as of old but it’s always been a secret desire. And I’d like to star in an award-winning sitcom as a disabled character and in the West End. It’s rather sad that these last two, being a pro, are more likely than some of the others! x

    Liked by 2 people

  17. Ah, the bucket list! First, I need a bit more money, and I need better health! But hey, I still intend to get around a bit, while I can….just have to shrink my horizons! Interested to see you had Krak des Chevaliers on your list…that, and places in Libya and Iran would have been on mine, but no longer. But I’m pleased to have been fortunate to see some interesting places while I was able!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. The Krak was on my own list for decades, and I am only sorry I didn’t go when I still could.
      More money and good health make it easier of course, but I have a feeling you have many more years of exploring still to come, Sue.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 2 people

          1. That would be great…I must give it some thought for next year….I love putting faces to names and meeting people who I have already had dialogue aplenty with on the blog!

            Liked by 2 people

  18. I’d like to visit the Cathar castles and towns in the South of France, I’d like to visit antique markets in Belgium and France. Mostly, if I won the lottery, I’d visit the friends I’ve made on the net and see where they live. I’d stay in a hotel locally and invite them to dinner where I’d persuade them to play tour guide of all the best loved local places. I’d like to donate to charity and see it being used.
    Hugs

    Liked by 3 people

    1. All very nice wishes, David, and mostly achievable. I have been lucky to have seen many of those Cathar towns over the years, including some more recently, when we visited Carcasonne in 2010, and toured the area in a hired car.
      Meeting the friends made from blogging has gone tothe top of my list, if I ever get enough money.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Strange to think you have never been to New York City. I generally presume that most Americans living in the east of that country have been there. You will always have a warm welcome in Beetley, and I will happily show you both some of the best sights in England, including London.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Aww. Thank you Pete! I’d love to come for a visit. As for NYC, I was there once for a library conference, but as we weren’t there even for a day, it didn’t allow for much sight seeing. I did get to go into FAO Schwartz and Tiffany’s though. I’d love to go there for a week and see the Library, the Statue of Liberty and of course Broadway. Sigh. I hate being poor.πŸ˜•

        Liked by 2 people

        1. I have a fondness for the older architecture in that city. Grand Central Station, The Flatiron Building, The Chrysler Building, all would be on my list to see.
          Rich people don’t know how lucky they are, and many don’t seem to appreciate their good fortune, or the opportunities it brings them.
          Best wishes, Pete.

          Liked by 2 people

  19. I’ve always wanted to cruise down the Nile, so you got me on that one. Your Easter Island trek would be in my bucket. Instead of the Syrian castle, I’ve pined to see Constantinople and the Haga Sophia. I would very much like to fly to Ecuador and the Galopogas Islands. Finally, I do believe I could spend some time in Tibet. The Potala Palace and Jokhang temple speak to me.
    Other than travel destinations, I too, have imagined a “blogging conference” where we buddies could meet and put accents to faces.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I did the Nile from Luxor to Aswan only, so no Pyramids, or Cairo. But it was still wonderful! I have been to Istanbul a couple of times, and really recommend it. There is a lot to see, but it is all close together, so you don’t need too long there. The Galapagos Islands are fascinating indeed, but I am not good on the sea, so might find visiting tricky.

      We have to make a pledge that whoever wins the lottery, or comes into a small fortune, will arrange that ‘blogging conference’ for the rest of us! x
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  20. I recently filled in a survey that asked about bucket list items and given the options I had to answer I had already done everything that I have ever really deeply wanted to do, many mentioned by yourself and others. I’m sure given unlimited funds I would come up with more things to do, most likely things to see, but as to experiences? The ability to play a musical instrument would be close to the top, but I guess I could achieve that if I really wanted to.
    One I would recommend to all is scuba diving, the experience will always stay with me and given the opportunity it is the one thing I would do again, despite doing over a hundred dives in the days when I had money πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  21. I would like to. Travel to the four corners of the earth and the four corners of my mind. But as they are both spheres I’d end up going round in circles.

    β€œAs you walk and eat and travel, be where you are.
    Otherwise you will miss most of your life.” -Buddha

    Climb a mountain.
    Sometimes a man needs to go for a long walk. To remind yourself of ones insignificance.
    To remember that the world is not made of cars and concrete.
    AK

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Buddha was so right! And I see so many people in different places, with family and friends, not communicating, not taking note of their surroundings, but on their phone, texting …What?? Get a life!

      Liked by 2 people

  22. There are so many things I have on my list!! But there are obstacles – such as money, being married to someone who won’t fly (even if their life depended on it), and physical ability. But there are a couple I WILL get to one way or the other if the opportunity arises!
    Ever see the movie “Bucket List” ?

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I didn’t watch that film, GP, but I have heard of it.
      Being married to someone who won’t fly will cerainly restrict you, unless you are ever in the position to buy a luxury ocean-going cruiser…
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 2 people

  23. Good Morning Pete:
    I read a headline a week or so ago about a 92-year-old man winning a lottery. As I recall it was $25,000/year for life. I thought he should have taken the lump sum. Regardless, I would like to win a lottery so I can see what my priorities really are. Would I give away as much as I think I would from the rather safe perspective of not having the money to give away?
    Warmest regards, Theo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I suppose what we decide to give away depends on how much we win, versus how long we can reasonably expect to live. I would like to win enough to fly you both over from America, to join my fantasy group of bloggers at some exotic location in Europe. πŸ™‚
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  24. There are hundreds of things I’ve never done Pete. My introduction to swimming was being thrown into the Waveny river here in Beccles aged three by my father. Needless to say I still have an aversion to swimming in fresh water all these years later. Plus I loathed him from that day until the day he died!! He was not a nice man…

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thanks, Jack. I drowned when I was five. I was saved by an angler, and resuscitated by a first-aider. After that, my Dad left me alone as far as swimming was concerned, but various games teachers at school thought it would be amusing to throw me into swimming pools from the side.
      That never worked, obviously.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 2 people

  25. You really got me thinking. There are things I never want to do, like going on a roller coaster or seeing the Northern Lights -others may disagree, but I have been thinking about things I would like to do. Some I’ll act on and others I’ll never get round to. I’d like to try to learn another language because people say it keeps the mind healthy; I’d like to see the Eden Project but it is such a long way away and I’m frightened it might be disappointing; I’ve always wanted a campervan but I’m already unsure about driving at night so I think I’ve left it too late. I am pleased I have left six novels for posterity and I did have a go at amateur dramatics but I’m still working on becoming just a TINY bit more famous!

    Liked by 4 people

    1. I went through the ‘campervan stage’ in my late 20s, Julie. But I never bought one, because I prefer the comfort of a hotel. πŸ™‚ I know people who have spent a lot of time and money trying to see the Northern lights, but never saw a thing. I reckon they would be a sight though, if you were lucky.
      I used to speak passable French at one time, but don’t get much chance to practice these days.
      Well done with the books though, and I am sure there is lots to see around the Eden Project, so maybe take that trip?
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 2 people

All comments welcome

