Retro Review: Straw Dogs (1971)

An occasional series, looking back at some good and bad films I have watched over the years.

This film was released at the time when graphic violence in films was on the rise. After decades of killings ‘off camera’, and little focus on the aftermath of violent acts, film-makers were beginning to push the boundaries, realising that public outrage was very good publicity indeed, as with ‘A Clockwork Orange’, and ‘Dirty Harry’, both released around the same time. Director Sam Peckinpah appeared to want to outdo both of those with this mainstream thriller, and apparently embraced the storm of controversy that followed.

I was nineteen years old at the time, and very much in the target market for films like these. They felt fresh and new, more realistic, and although we might not have wanted to admit it, the violence was exciting. It was released in the UK with an ‘X’ rating, meaning that only people over the age of eighteen could watch it in cinemas. It was also shown here uncut, unlike in America, where it was edited in order to be given an ‘R’ rating. The video release years later (1984) saw the film actually banned in Britain, as sensibilities had changed, and it was considered to be a ‘video nasty’. The full uncut version was not allowed to be released on DVD until 2002.

The story is set in a remote part of Cornwall, where American mathematician David (Dustin Hoffman) has come to live with his attractive English wife, Amy. (Susan George) It is her home village, so her return with the bespectacled academic causes a lot of interest with her former friends, family, and in particular, her ex-boyfriend. David employs some local men (including that ex-boyfriend) to make repairs on the house, and he withdraws into his studies, unaware of his wife’s provocative flirting with them. Hoffman plays his character as weak and ineffectual, settling the scene for events that follow. Amy is eventually raped by one of them. In the scene that caused all the controversy, she is shown to begin to enjoy the assault, and eventually becoming a willing participant. That changes when a second man arrives, and the first one holds her down, so he can also rape her.

Unaware of the attack, David makes some attempt to integrate into the community, but events spiral out of hand when the family cat is killed, then a local girl is murdered, and David and Amy unknowingly shelter the killer. A group of vigilantes arrive at the isolated cottage, intent on seizing the murderer, and a siege situation develops, with David attempting to fortify the house, and improvising traps and weapons. In the frantic last scenes, David finally finds his courage and tackles the intruders, with grisly results.

This is a film that ultimately leaves a bad taste in the mouth of anyone unfortunate enough to watch it. A big star at the time, Hoffman was wasted in this pointless exercise, along with a crop of fine British and Irish character actors, like Peter Vaughan, T. P. McKenna, and Colin Welland. We are presumably supposed to root for the mild-mannered David, as he gets his revenge on those who mocked him, and sexually abused his wife. But there are no winners in this story, just unnecessary exploitation of sex and violence that doesn’t have a single redeeming feature.

Here’s an Australian trailer.

45 thoughts on “Retro Review: Straw Dogs (1971)

  1. I can understand where you are coming from. Nevertheless, my views echo those of “allthingsthriller” whom you replied to earlier. I wanted to originally elaborate my thoughts, but “allthingsthriller” already said most of what I wanted to say that I could do was reply to her above and tell her that “I could not have articulated it better.” Great post though and keep up the great work as always 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Okay. Here’s my two cents Pete. I like Straw Dogs. Yes, it is a troubling film. Yes, it is unsettling and distasteful. Sam Peckinpah had some very disturbing and archaic ideas about women and the women’s movement. Straw Dogs is his vitriolic reaction to both. It is a protest/reaction to his perceived emasculation and to what he sees as an assault/ invasion on rugged individualism. I couldn’t disagree with his ideas and attitudes more–not even remotely in my wheelhouse of ideology. Nonetheless he articulates his viewpoint powerfully and stunningly in this film. It is a uniquely and unapologetically American film. Donald Trump probably identifies with it very much.
    I eagerly await your discourse.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi, Pam. You are entitled to your opinion of course, and if you like this film, that’s fine by me. As I said above, I was 19 when I saw it in the cinema, along with my long-term girlfriend at the time, who was 20. We had both seen a lot of films by then, and neither of us was remotely squeamish, or prudish. But as the film played, I became increasingly uncomfortable, Not only with the implication that Susan George’s character was a willing participant in the sexual assault, but also that Hoffman’s husband was so weak, it was plain as the nose on my face that he would be the ultimate ‘turning worm’, discover his balls at the last moment, and take his revenge.
      So for me, the film failed to impress at many levels. The outcome was obvious, as soon as things started to get nasty with the locals. Susan George had played slutty or promiscuous characters in her career already, so even her ‘acceptance’ of the rape was no real surprise. I couldn’t see what the film was trying to say. A revenge thriller, simple as that? I’m still unsure today, and therefore happy to accept your interpretation of Peckinpah’s motives. I just remember really disliking it, and have certainly never bothered to watch it again, or the remake made in 2011.
      Many thanks for your intelligent comment. Such debate is always welcome.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. In my opinion this film was brutal, although I still watched It because I am a fan of these type of films. I just didn’t expect it to be so .. ummmm.. disturbing! I like the remake much better, had a lot more going on than the original. I felt as If the original felt a little too real. If that makes any sense at all. The remake felt like more like a movie. I do admit this was a hard one to watch.. I love horror but this was a little over the line

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like negative reviews and I had friends who called this avant garde and ahead of its time, which probably as far as violence, it was one of the worst and might be considered rather tame now. (Not really, just added this thought!) Smiles, Robin

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Robin. I am all for avant garde and ahead of time, but this was neither.. It was just plain nasty, and served no purpose. Even very gory horror films can be amusing or camp, and I have seen very violent films that are genuinely avant-garde, and appreciated that. Here’s an example.
      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Martyrs_(2008_film) This film is both disturbing, and very violent. But it is unusual, cleverly made, thought-provoking, and not at all exploitative. Unlike Straw Dogs.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  5. I saw this a few years back, and you are quite right Pete. This one really did leave a bad taste. It was one of those films that was just created to deliver pure shock, and one has to wonder why films like these keep getting made (as there are certainly enough examples of films such as these in our time). Oh well…we can’t win them all I guess😢

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is the first ‘deliberately’ bad review I have posted, as I usually only post about films I tend to like. But this is part of a new series, posting reviews of films that are very bad, as well as good ones too.
      I wouldn’t give it 1/10, let alone 7.5.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 2 people

  6. Pete, you are right, it’s still a very controversial film, for the scene with Susan George that you reference. Peckinpah was at the forefront of the depiction of violence in film – his western “The Wild Bunch” when released was the most violent film ever made…and Susan George was in a number of interesting films in the 70’s, including the ultimate in bad taste, “Mandingo!” Here’s a look at her career:

    Terrific Actress Susan George! From “Straw Dogs” To “Dirty Mary” And “Mandingo”! A Controversial British Sex Kitten!

    Liked by 1 person

All comments welcome

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.